Flashing Bios?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jbuffethed, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. jbuffethed

    jbuffethed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maxwell AFB
    Does doing so mess with Windows at all? I have an Intel D850GB that is about 3yrs old, or is it even worth flashing it?
     
  2. tofuthecourageous

    tofuthecourageous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA fucking blows
    what do you mean mess with windows exactly? flashing the bios resets all the bios settings i.e. clock speeds if you changed them, boot sequence, anything in those options. some that may mess with windows could be AGP settings but if its 3yrs old that shouldnt be too big a problem.
     
  3. jbuffethed

    jbuffethed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maxwell AFB
    I mean flashing wouldnt effect it where I would have to reformat? So i can boot up, flash the update and be on my way?
     
  4. beave

    beave Housin Beers & Buildin Dams

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mean streets of NJ
    yup simple as that put the diskette in and let it do its thing then itll restart and ull be on ur way
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    why do you want to flash your bios?

    it's dangerous.

    never re-flash unless:
    1) You're experiencing a problem
    2) The problem you have is officially documented by the manufacturer as being fixed in the new bios you wish to flash to.

    If you do not have a problem, or if the problem you are having is not *explicitly* adressed by the new bios, do not re-flash.
     
  6. beave

    beave Housin Beers & Buildin Dams

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mean streets of NJ
    if ur having any problems 1st reset the bios by using the jumper then if needed flash the newer bios

    its not too dangerous i dont see how you can screw it up
     
  7. jbuffethed

    jbuffethed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maxwell AFB
    Not having problems, I just noticed how old my bios was and there were updates. I did it to my other PC and had no problems, so I'm hopin for the same.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, I wouldn't do it, just so you know.
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I flash my bios everytime there is a new update or a new modded bios. I have flashed probably about 20 times, only have a problem once. and it was fixable. just had to hot-swap a bios out of another board.
     

Share This Page