A&P flash sync speed for d80 with cactus triggers

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by fukijama1, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i tried my new d80 with my cactus triggers...what is my fastest shutter speed. i tried 1/200 and i was getting a rectangle of like dead space where there was no flash in the shot
     
  2. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Try some new batteries in the reciever.
     
  3. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    heres a quick sample.
    [​IMG]

    400 iso @ 1/250
    when its at 1/200 its half that
     
  4. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    That not the flash not lighting up the area, it's your shutter still covering up that part of the sensor. :rofl:

    Try a new CR2. It should be alright at 1/200.
     
  5. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    works ok at 1/160..transceiver batt going bad?
     
  6. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Like I said, change the battery. This is the typical problem of not having a full sync speed.
     
  7. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok..ill add that to one of my things to do tomrrow is pick up a new battery for my cactus transceiver
     
  8. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Receiver :rofl:

    CR2s are more expensive than you think too. :noes:
     
  9. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait..CR2s are the receiver? my receivers are modded to use AAA. are you talking about the unit on the cam or the flash?
     
  10. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    I'm talking about the receiver (flash side) - originally they take CR2s. Try some fresh AAAs first. After that, the only think I can think of would be the battery in the transmitter. Try the AAAs first
     
  11. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    till the same...@ 1/200 ill try new batts on the TX tomrrow
     
  13. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    cr2=reciever

    could be the sending unit side?
     
  14. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea imma get new batts tomrrow and see...some on flickr have said they have it working at 1/200 with fresh batteries
     
  15. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    ive not had issues with it at 1/200, but then again it was daylight and the flash was only used as a fill, not key

    i have chinese triggers, that seem to be identical to the cactus in every way shape and form, as far as the circuit board chip and etc goes
     
  16. reman

    reman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston / Austin
    Mine works up to 1/500 with the factory batteries.
     
  17. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    got this with 1/160
    [​IMG]

    but ill try new batteries...i have been using these for a while now
     
  18. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago

    1d Classic?
     
  19. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Max flash sync on D80 is 1/200... it's an electronically exposed shutter, so you're not going to get above that no matter how many batteries you replace.

    you're probably losing one stop of shutter due to lag between transmitter and receiver.


    I had the same problem using a D80...


    D70 flash sync speed > *
     
  20. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    You get what you pay for. Cactus triggers are garbage.
     
  21. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, the D80 shutter is mechanical, which is why it's limited to 1/200. All cameras that have mechanical shutters are limited around 1/200 or 250.

    The D70 shutter is electronic.
     
  22. reman

    reman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston / Austin
    Actually a D40. I can also go as fast as 1/4000.
     
  23. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Ah, see if you would have said that, it may have made sense. The 1d classic has a sync speed of 1/500.

    I guess that's cool. Don't know if I'd have a D40 just for that. Or maybe have it in addition to a D700/other Nikon. :dunno:
     
  24. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried new batteries....i guess ill have to use 1/160 i still get a bar at 1/200.
     
  25. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Yeah with the triggers I was stuck at 1/160 with my brother's D80 and my shutter dropped to 1/400 instead of 1/500 on my D70s when I converted to AAA's.
     

Share This Page