A&P Flash or Lens?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by widds2v, Oct 1, 2008.

1. widds2v

widds2v Active Member

I have an XTi w/ kit lens.. I'd say I'm not a complete noob with it, but I'm still new to photography. Always read to stick with the kit lens until you feel comfortable then upgrade. Well with the 30% live cashback deal back on ebay, I want to do some upgrading.

Already bought the Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS based off of reviews over at fredmiranda, and the fact that I got it for $189 new. Couldn't really justify the $800 more a 70-200 f/4 IS L lens would of cost me with the type of pictures I do.

Now to cover the other side of the spectrum I was looking at the Tamron 17-50mm, however the topic of a flash came up. I'd be looking at the speedlite 430ex. I do some indoor photography, mostly outdoors though. Would you recommend grabbing the flash and just keeping kit lens (I could even grab the flash and a 50mm f/2.5 for the same price as the tamron) or upgrade the lens and just stick with the cameras flash for now?

2. wizeguy4

wizeguy4 New Member

for mostly outdoors - I would go with the lens first and see how much more you need if a flash is really needed. You might have more than enough light given that the Tammy has a larger maintained aperature than what you are currently used to a full stop 9which is equal to double btw) of the minimum your 55-250 can do.

I think worst case, with the lens, and shooting raw, if you can not get a clean shot right out of the camera, you should be able to easily get it back in post.

and the lens is more fun than the flash

3. ZCP M3

ZCP M3 Active Member

I bought my 580EX II before my 70-200 f/4L and regretted it. I'd go with the glass first unless you find yourself currently not getting shots because of inadequate light.

4. widds2v

widds2v Active Member

ya i thought about it more and bought the tamron