MMA First Tourney this weekend... eeek

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by 2000GT, Oct 20, 2005.

1. 2000GT

2000GT Active Member

I have been training kickbox and mua thai for about 6 months now (did pankration for a 6 months prior) and this weekend I am going to enter in a tournament called the Western Canadian Martial Arts Challange.
    I will be enetering this division: (m) (18 +) White - Green (174-200) which is just a adult beginner division with the weightclass of 174-200. I am 205 right now, but will be down to less than 200 for the weekend.
    I believe I have to wear headgear, mouthguard, shin pads etc... however, in the rules I read something about being carded for using too much force?
    Is it common for people to be knocked out in these tournaments? I believe there is one 2 min round and the winner continues on. Anyone know what I should expect?

2. Gomi Bear

Gomi Bear New Member

Good luck man :bigthumb:

Sounds like a tournament like the Karate Kid...:dunno:

3. Supertrapped

Supertrapped President of 2:73

I hate tourney's like that :sad2:

4. brolli

brolli OT Supporter

well you should have the edge since you have been doing muay thai. But If its like point sparring or something then that sucks.

5. 2000GT

2000GT Active Member

why is that?

6. 2000GT

2000GT Active Member

Its not point sparring, I guess you go till you knock someone out or the judges make a decision.

7. Supertrapped

Supertrapped President of 2:73

All the pads and rules

You're not gonna learn anything that way....IMO

8. 2000GT

2000GT Active Member

what kind of rules.. I have never competed.. sparred lots, but never to the point of trying to knock someone out or damage them.
    I know I have very strong powerfull kicks and hooks, but I get the impression I will not be able to use them.
    http://members.shaw.ca/b-hunter/WKC face.htm
    Those are the rules.

Is the point to knock the opponent out or what?

9. Atmosphere

Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM