First Time Waxing

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by TrevorK, Oct 14, 2002.

1. TrevorK

TrevorK New Member

OK, this is my first time waxing my car. I plan to wax my winter car before it get's too cold so that it has some protection throughout the winter.

I purchased the Mother's Clay Bar kit - seemed to come with what I need (It's my winter 'beater' so it doesn't need a showcar shine). What towels do I need at what steps? What steps should I take? Any specific towels/types of towels?

Also, my car is painted in acrylic enamel (not base-clear). Is this wax safe for this paint?

Any other steps I should know? I just painted my car in the summer, so I don't want to ruin the paint...

Trevor

2. TrevorK

TrevorK New Member

Oh - and should I apply a couple coats of the carnuba wax that came in the kit?

Trevor

3. Jackhole

Jackhole New Member

Everything you just asked can be found in the stickies at the top of the forum, or by using the [​IMG] tool.

4. TrevorK

TrevorK New Member

So I should be using a back-forth motion (front-back) when waxing? And when buffing the wax?

Also, can I wash my terry-cloth towels that I used to wax the car with in my washing machine - or will the waxy residue be stuck on?

Do I wash my micro-fiber cloth seperately from everything after every use?

I assume temperature matters. Right now it's 10 deg Celsius outside - 50 deg Farenheit. I assume that's a bit too cold to wax the car in? What temperature should I aim for?

Thanks
    Trevor

5. Jackhole

Jackhole New Member

Yes, use the back and forth motion when buffing, too. All towels can be washed in your washing machine, no problem. Yes, wash your MF separately.

50 is fine to wax your car in, I believe. I really wouldn't do it in anything colder than that, though.

6. TrevorK

TrevorK New Member

I just finished - it's looking better, not amazing, but considering it's a garage paint job it looks good.