SRS First time on meds

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by surrender, Dec 11, 2009.

1. surrender

surrender [ON MEDS]

This isn't quite yet a success story - I'm just getting started, and I'd appreciate advice from others who have been here. I posted an earlier thread about my situation, which I'd rather not dig up because I was at rock bottom when I wrote it, but feel free to search if you want some background.

About 5 years ago, I started seeing a psychologist for social anxiety - I was at the point where I couldn't leave my dorm without having a panic attack, since I felt I was being watched judged constantly. I was also diagnosed with dysthymia, but I chose not to medicate for either condition, and therapy was enough to fix the social anxiety.

Now, this past August, I started at my first-choice grad school. Because of the aforementioned anxiety and depression, I had a poor undergrad experience, so I was determined to make the most of my new situation and changed my lifestyle radically. I became extremely social, involved myself in student organizations, participated in intramurals, started lifting and running, and ate more healthy food. By all accounts, I should have been the happiest I have ever been - I love my classes, have met some great friends, ended up with an awesome roommate - but I still felt down, although I knew it was irrational.