GUN First shotgun (home defense)

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by nugzalot, Jan 7, 2006.

1. nugzalot

nugzalot OT Supporter

I'm pretty new to guns in general. Went to the range a few weeks ago and shot some pistols with an experienced friend. Started off with a .22 and then shot a 9mm. I was really thinking about picking up a sub compact 9 mm for a first handgun primarily for home defense. But talking to family, they expressed a shotgun would be better.

Searching through it seems the obvious choice would be a Remington 870. What do you guys think about getting a 20 guage as a first shotgun / home defense gun. From reading it seems 18" is the way to go. Any thoughts?

2. johan

johan Active Member

I think for HD, you want it to be effective, and you also probably won't be firing very many rounds.

Therefore...12ga instead of 20? If you were going 20 due to recoil...how much recoil would there be if you're firing a couple of rounds...and hopefully you'll never actually have to fire it in self-defense.

I'd much rather take that once-in-a-lifetime double kick to the shoulder, and be really sure the job is done. That's a good tradeoff to me.

If you're still thinking handgun...then how about a .357 Mag revolver over an auto. Keep it simple.

3. timmy8151

timmy8151 New Member

IMHO, a shotgun is a great HD choice. It can be loaded with various types of loads (shot, buck) and has more potential lethality than a handgun.

I'd recommend that you look at either a Mossberg 500/590 or a Remington 870. Both are fine weapons and will not fail you.

Regarding 12 ga or 20 ga, I prefer 12 ga because of the vast selection of ammo choices out there versus the 20 ga. If you're recoil sensitive, many companies offered reduced recoil or "tactical loads"

If you go with a pistol I agree with johan about a .38/.357 revolver. I feel that they're easier to use in stessful situations and more reliable (ie. limp wristing failure)

My personal Home defense is as follows: