Firefox "hangs"

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hom3lesshom3boy, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    By hanging, I mean when I'm typing somethign out, there will be a delay between the acual typing I do and the letters that are displayed, it will stop midscroll on a long web page, when i click between tabs there will be a delay in response time, and etc. I've gotten rid of my bookmark toolbar, all addons and the only extension I have is google toolbar. I've cleared my cache and history is set to 0 days. I've also tried Avant and Opera brwsers and they don't have this problem. THere are things in teh error log that quite frankly I don't understand, so if you want me to post it just say so. Thanks in advance?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, please post.
     
  3. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    There are a lot of repeated errors, and other various ones but there are too many to pick out all of them. Hope this helps.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    most of those are simply CSS errors. Nothing to worry about there.


    Do you have lots of tabs open at the time?


    Try closing Firefox, going into your profile folder, deleting sessionstore.js and sessionstore.bak, and starting Firefox back up.
     
  5. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    What would you consider a lot of tabs? I have anywhere between one to nine, but i generally have about five open...
     
  6. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    i deleted nssessionstore.js and everything seems okay now. thanks. anything i can do to prevent this problem in the future?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I don't consider 5 to be a lot, but it wouldn't surprise me if FF does. I have personally experienced some pretty shitty coding and issues with FF. They have acknowledged memory leak issues for years and still haven't fixed it because it's too "invasive". (although someone will probably chime in that they have a non-official release that has it fixed and for who knows what reason they refuse to integrate the new memory management code until v3 at the earliest).

    I recommend Opera over FF, any day.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    until mozilla gets their act together, no. I recommend Opera.

    Don't get your hope up, either... There have been huge memory management issues since the begining and here were are at 2.x and it's still not fixed in the official builds.
     
  9. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    the fix works, but the reason why i didn't switch over to opera was because it wasn't accepted as a compatible browser with some sites :/
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Most of those can be fixed in "site preferences" by right clicking in opera. Although some sites still refuse to work by having annoying javascript checks to force their browser of choice on you. I keep firefox around only for when absolutely neccessary.
     
  11. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    and what do i do once i get into site preferences?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on the site. Generally going to the network tab and choosing something like "identify as firefox" is enough.
     
  13. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Thanks a bunch. I've been converted :bowdown:
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm wondering how much memory thread starter's pc has.
     

Share This Page