Firefox Gurus (public computers)...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Funky Munky, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. Funky Munky

    Funky Munky Chronic Masturbator OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    14,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OT
    So I invested in a 1GB memory stick for college and since these computers only use IE I said fuck that I am downloading Firefox so I have Firefox installed on it (the full version not the "USB friendly" version) and whenever I restart or log off the computer it never saves my passwords/history/autocomplete files. I was wondering if there is a way in Firefox itself to ensure that it saves these files so when I plug my stick into another PC and log on it saves my bookmarks and whatnot.

    Thanks for any help. :bigthumb:
     
  2. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    1) In the same folder as Firefox.exe, make a subfolder called "profile" and leave it empty.
    2) In the same folder as Firefox.exe, create a .bat file and put the following line inside it:
    start firefox.exe -profile "profile/"
    3) Save the .bat file and run it. Your profile should automatically be created in the "profile" folder, open it up, you should see a "chrome" subdirectory, prefs.js and the usual files.

    Found this online, though I don't have a flash drive to test it.

    Edit: If it doesn't work, try adding the absoulte path to the profile, i.e. "E:\profile"
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2005
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    If you're going to go through so much work to use better software, why not just reboot the machine with a Linux LiveCD instead?
     
  4. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The flash drive is a heck of a lot easier than booting up a LiveCD and THEN storing it on a flashdrive. And I don't know if you've seen the type of people they hire to be lab assistants, but they'd probably shit themselves and call 911 if they saw a linux desktop on one of the PCs.
     
  5. tony

    tony Guest

    Some of the labs i've been into do not allow the students to reboot the machines. Ive seen a couple people get kicked out, because of it.
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    The labs you guys are talking about are obviously more supervised and controlled than the ones I'm used to. The University-controlled ones at my school are pretty wide-open.

    Of course, in the comp sci-controlled ones, things are stricter - you can't reboot since someone may be working on that machine remotely and you'd fuck them over by rebooting. But they're Linux anyway, so you wouldn't need to reboot.
     
  7. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    cs labbies would shit themselves if they saw you reboot a linux or unix machine
     
  8. tony

    tony Guest

    its also quicker to double click an icon on a USB stick, than to reboot and load a linux livecd.
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    No, they remain pretty calm. They just come find you or send you an email to find out why you rebooted it. If you don't have a good reason, they give you a warning or turn off your account.
     
  10. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Truth.

    To make it even easier you could use a VBscript to launch FireFox, have it loop until the FireFox.exe program exits, and then have it perform the same function as the batch file.
     

Share This Page