FireFox Crew... v.Eh:wtf:doc

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Noah, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. Noah

    Noah The things we know best are the things we haven't OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    23,730
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Earth
    I have been using FireFox version 2.0.12 (I think that was it), and have just installed the beta version 3.0B4, but am still having the same problem.

    Various pages will take 30 mins to load, or not load at all. Sometimes it will only load text and no photos. It is haphazard web-browsing. However if I use IE7, everything loads without issue as quick as can be.

    I've uninstalled FireFox and then re-installed once, same result. Installed beta 3.0b4, same result. I've updated the Network Card Driver, same result.

    Suggestions!?

    Thanks OT!
     
  2. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    have you removed all of the FF folders when you uninstall? i think theres some saved settings that dont unistall in the C:/Documents and Settings folders
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allow me to direct your attention to this:

    [​IMG]

    That's a graph of Firefox 3's memory usage as 319 websites are loaded and closed one after another, with a max of 30 open at any one time.

    As far as your problem is concerned, it sounds more like a routing issue than a Firefox issue -- pay no attention to Potty, he's just sackriding Opera because that's what he does.

    Also, it's called a BETA because it doesn't work right yet, so if you have any other problems with FF3, tell Mozilla, not us.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    the memory leak issue is caused by IMAGES. That mozilla propoganda picture you posted is an attempt to minimize an issue that mozilla refused to fix for several years.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you click on the graph, it will take you to an article wherein they explain quite clearly that they've fixed the image memory leak in FF3.

    Again, his problem is not his browser, and switching to Opera will do nothing to help it, regardless of how fantastic it may be in every other respect.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    That's why I said they refused to fix it for several years... From pre-1 release until now, and even then it's not fixed in the "stable" builds.

    Then explain why IE7 does not exhibit this problem?? Thus far the only changed factor is the BROWSER.

    You are being VERY pre-mature to say it's not a browser issue. And Opera is a VERY valid suggestion... Since he has tried 2 browsers and each exhibits a different result, a 3rd browser can provide valuable insight. Not to mention it's a better browser, anyway.
     
  8. Noah

    Noah The things we know best are the things we haven't OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    23,730
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Earth
    That seemed to do the trick!

    FireFox is up and running without problem now. Thanks!!
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh. I wonder what the problem was?
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    corrupt install
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's fixes more problems than just about anything when it comes to bad updates.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    for what? Opera is faster, and the better browser. what else you want to know?
     
  13. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,921
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :rofl:
     
  14. Clarity

    Clarity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's just too ugly in comparison to FF. Plus Adblock&Noscript>anything on Opera that I know of.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    opera's built-in content blocker works great for me. built-in > extension, any day.


    As for looks, it looks great.
     

Share This Page