Firefox 1.5 thoughts

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Aimless, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yes, it's out. Available here (Windows) or from a mirror

    I really don't like the new options menu layout. I wonder if someone can write an extension to revert it? :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2005
  2. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Yeah the option isn't the best, but I do think it's easier for the general public.

    There have been a ton of improvements on the inside, one of the big ones being speed and memory issues. I've been running this instance of FF all day and been opening tons of tabs and have 10 or so extensions and am only hitting 64mb of RAM. Not that bad at all considering 1.0.x was around 200mb for me.

    It's getting real close to my ideal web browser, the just need full page zoom (like opera), super smooth scrolling (again like opera), and then a little more on the speed/processor usage on scrolling and forward/back (hey once again like opera).

    I do think that FF > Opera FOR MY NEEDS (no need to start a flame war), but Opera really does those three things above perfectly.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I figure it'll probably hit the Breezy repositories by tomorrow. Then I'll try it out :eek3:
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Hence, I use Opera and not Firefox :big grin:

    A good amount of the features people wish Firefox had, Opera does and does so with having to install anything else like extensions.
     
  5. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    is there an extension that will recover closed tabs like opera does?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ctrl-Z for Opera to recover closed tabs. Again something already built in to Opera.

    I guess it comes down to preference on which one to use. If you search, you'll find plenty of threads bashing one another. Go with one that you like.
     
  7. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    wow, thanks for all the super information :eek5:



    (what is the extension called, I don't feel like digging around through them to find it)
     
  8. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    session saver .2
     
  9. Jake!

    Jake! Guest

    I have a FF mouse gesture that reopens closed tabs..

    anyway.. woo hoo! its finally out!
     
  10. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    name of the extension? is it just the normal mouse gestures?
     
  11. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    While this is true, the major features that I look for Opera doesn't have, its just some of the smaller ones that I am waiting on still.
     
  12. Jake!

    Jake! Guest

    all-in-one gestures

    i don't think it is in the default set though
     
  13. borborygmus

    borborygmus Guest

    I must have this :o
     
  14. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    People always saying Opera is better... will soon realize that Firefox is catching up and exceeding very quick. They will be going in denial mode now. Extensions are useful because they are optional features. Meaning, not installed unless you want it. To say one is better because it is built in standard is like saying it's good for Microsoft to install all of their softwares without having the option of taking them out. Eventually, you'll wish it was optional.
     
  15. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    True story, though I've been using Opera a lot the past few months.

    (Though I'm on Firefox now since 1.5 just came out)

    For whast it's worth, I have both Firefox 1.5 and Opera 8.5.1 running right now. Two windows with the same total number of tabs are opened for each of them (about 15 tabs total for each browser) and FF is using 93 MB of RAM while Opera is using 40 MB.
     
  16. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I only have one complaint, you can't use any ASCII that uses either the 4 or 6 key :(
     
  17. marauder

    marauder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    No issues with it seems good to me.
     
  18. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to give it a try.

    The previous versions of FF have been slow in Fedora for me. So I have been using Opera since they gave out the free keys.

    I never got into the whole FF extension thing. I tried out the weather one and it was cool for about a day. Then I realized it was useless.
     
  19. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    My whole reason for using FF initially was... it wasn't microsoft. I soon realized that FF is actually everything I was looking for. I never tried Opera, as I never really had a reason. Most of the garbage that is included in IE, I would never EVAR use, so FF being stripped down and requiring extensions seemed (seems) like a very logical idea to me. Allowing me to use only what I need... not what someone thinks John Q. IEUser needs.

    The only extensions I use in FF are:

    IE View; because I do some web design and like to test in IE and FF

    downTHEMall!; very handy for downloading pages of pr0... I mean, pictures.

    and Pluck... but I would use it regardless of IE or FF.

    I loaded FF1.5 on one of my machines the other day, but haven't had time to work on that machine much. From what I can see, memory leaks are all but gone in the new version, which is a welcomed improvement over previous versions.
     
  20. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    After using it for a while, I don't use much of the new features, so it looks the same to me. New feature that I still barely use is the moving tabs around. I've used Live Bookmarks before.

    As for replacing Dictionary.com with Answers.com. I like answers.com, but I also like dictionary.com. Instead of replacing it, why didn't they just have both. That's what I don't understand.
     
  21. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    after using it... in-browser video doenst show up... which is quite a large annoyance.

    aside from that, it seems aight.
     
  22. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I'm really starting to wonder how much testing this release went through...

    If you tell it to Clear Private Data when closing Firefox (something that would be useful for me at work) it displays a box asking you if you would like to Clear Private Data when you open the browser. How the hell is that useful?
     
  23. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like it though I experience some weird behavior with OT. For example, if I click on Quick Search or Search This Thread at the top, then click in the text box, it jumps me to the bottom search option. If I enter the terms to search by and click Submit, it does nothing.
    Also, if I edit one of my posts I lose the ability to Ctrl-Home to the top of the page or Ctrl-End to the bottom afterwards.
     
  24. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I like how a single page open can take up to 90mb of memory :hsugh:
     
  25. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    3
    1.5 does'nt support SwitcProxy
     

Share This Page