WEB finding work

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by conRAD, Oct 24, 2007.

1. conRAD

conRAD New Member

Feb 12, 2007
    I had a post like this a while back, but instead of bringing it back, I'm going to bring up the same point with some different angles.

Pretty much - what do you find is the best way to find design work? Myself, I know html, css, and flash. I have taken on major projects in the past (sadly, under nda agreements so I cant include them in a portfolio), but lately all I can seem to find are very small, low paying jobs.

I know my problem - and that is that I still need to re-do a strong online portfolio, but I don't have much work to show in it, as any major work I have done as been under non disclosure for other designers (most of my previous work was taking designs from others, and integrating them into interactive flash sites)

Problem #2 - no design education background. I am self taught over the last 9-10 years (been inside of flash since a copy I played around with in 7th grade in the new fancy computer arts department, im 22 now)

Problem #3 - I am very nervous when I deal directly with a customer. Not horribly, but I have had enough bad experiences in the past, mostly recent, that I cant bring myself to just advertising and finding someone who needs work who isn't a designer.

see, I love working for other designers. They know what they need. It seems every non-designer I get work from has 10,000 different ideas, changes their mind 20 times, and cant explain exactly what they want. As if they think web pages are magic, they tell me they want a "sweet ass site!" and I go "hell yeah dude!" and it just appears.

Am I advertising in the wrong places? Where can I hook up with other designers who would outsource flash to me? What is the best way to get my foot in the door with a design agency?