A&P Finally got the 5D MkII

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by adamlewis88, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    And Ive discovered the downfall of it...
























    1GB card holds 27 raw pictures :hs:

    Time for new cards
     
  2. Mutombo

    Mutombo New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Congrats.

    Post pics.
     
  3. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    People still use 1GB CF cards? :o
     
  4. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Not but it is what is here at the store while my camera bag is at home.

    Even still, I had 4, 4GB cards that I used with my MkIII and 5D. In RAW, they would normally get ~250 on each card.

    Now Im looking at ~100 on each card :hs:
     
  5. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,804
    Likes Received:
    7
    Time for some 16GB card action.
     
  6. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,404
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Houston
    :rofl: @ 1 gig
     
  7. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Like I said, its just one I grabbed from the store and it makes the math easy. Does it really matter? Does it really constitute a ":rofl:"?

    Ill say it differently just for you Le'Girth. Youll only get 400 pictures on a 16GB card :hs:
     
  8. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it give you the sRAW option?
     
  9. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yeah. Theres actually two different versions too. sRAW1 and sRAW2 which are 10 and 5MP respectively.
     
  10. ace3

    ace3 mouthify my wang.

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    122,602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Omaha NebrASSka Posts: 15
    try the "black lights" thing tonight. do -all- of the 5dII's have that problem?
     
  11. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,404
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Houston
    Actually, I get between 400-450 on an 8 gig card, but who's counting. And I don't need 16 gig cards (yet) because I have plenty of 4 and 8 giggers to make it work for myself for now. :fawk:

    But I still love you and your dry sense of humor. :love:
     
  12. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  13. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
  14. Gvidon

    Gvidon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    16,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Lol at shooting raw...noob :greddy:
     
  15. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Untrue. Im stuck at my part-time job right now and have been playing with it using a 60x offbrand CF card. Video works just fine.
     
  16. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    what now? :ugh:
     
  17. xconverge

    xconverge OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I only get 1.4k raw on my d70 haha. MP can suck it
     
  18. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Doesnt look like it from here :dunno: Admittedly, this is just playback on the camera. I dont see why it would be any different once its on a PC, but Im just giving all the facts. So far, 60x CF card seems fine.

    And so far no black dots!
     
  19. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    cliffs on these black dots so i dont have to read an essay i found on google
     
  20. BumbleBeeTuna

    BumbleBeeTuna excuse me, your balls are showing OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
  21. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    However, I dont know if the black dot is a RAW conversion thing from post or not...

    I vaguely remember reading that it was something that only showed up when the RAWs were converted...
     
  22. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Some 5D2s are showing a collection of black pixels at the border of very bright highlights.
     
  23. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  24. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    looks like an early 80's CCD camcorder :ugh:
     

Share This Page