Finally finalized friend's budget gaming box... thoughts?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bowrofl, May 23, 2009.

  1. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Posted a month or two ago asking for advice on building a friend a budget gaming box for under 700 bucks. I came up with a near-final build, just looking for some final thoughts before the go ahead. Price came out to just under $700 by a few cents after tax, S&H and all that jazz.

    Purpose: Gaming at resolutions less than 1680x1050 (not sure size of his monitor but he isn't getting a new one)

    Case: Antec 300
    CPU: [FONT=&quot]AMD Athlon X2 7750 [/FONT] [FONT=&quot]2.7GHZ 3MB 65NM 95W
    Mobo: [/FONT] [FONT=&quot]ASUS M3A78-EM AMD 780G
    RAM: [/FONT] [FONT=&quot]Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2
    GPU: [/FONT] [FONT=&quot]Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 512MB GDDR3[/FONT]
    PSU: [FONT=&quot] Corsair TX650W 650W [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Optical :[/FONT] [FONT=&quot]LG GH22NS30
    HD: [/FONT] [FONT=&quot]Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB

    Waddya say?
    [/FONT]
     
  2. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Yeah I thought the PSU may be overkill... but I've had trouble finding a cheaper & less powerful one on the site I plan to order all these parts from, ncix.com Price on there is $ [FONT=&quot]$114... sigh, good ol' Canadian pricing.

    As for the Intel CPU/Mobo combo.... I was originally looking at going that way, yet I remembered that Core i7 seems to be the next big step Intel is taking, and that there won't be much life left with the P45. From what I know, the AMD 780G has more life in it, and more opportunities to upgrade to something better? I could be full of misinformation for all I know, so If I am, please, correct me!

    I'm willing to change the build for equally priced parts if there are better ones, I just need the guidence from some experienced box buildings here in C&P. :hs:
    [/FONT]
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    future proofing considered,... AMD route, I'd get an AM3 board and DDR3

    Intel,... i'd wait for Core i5
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Where are you getting the parts from? You mentioned Canada and I've always got stuff from either www.ncix.com (enter through the flash window for the sale prices) or www.memoryexpress.com
    Ordered tons of stuff from both.
     
  5. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    @Doomsday... I'd like to get him DDR3 RAM but thats a bit of his price range. The AM3 boards aren't that much more than AM2 though, thanks for the suggestion :coold:

    @Dan... I'm using ncix. It kicks ass... and using the Price Matching feature + shopbot.ca saved me $50 alone
     
  6. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Only choice I need to make now is whether to keep the AMD Mobo & CPU or if an equally priced Intel Mobo & CPU would give him a more powerful computer for the same price. I'm not too experienced in comparing AMD & Intel chipsets... anyone else here more experienced in this that can give me some advice?
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the only advantage of AMD is price. they need to be cheaper to compete.
    Intel's architecture is still better clock for clock.

    that Athlon X2 7750 is usually compared to the E5200.

    stock speeds,... the 7750 has a slight advantage.
    overclocking,... the E5200 would rape its ass.
     
  8. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I can never see my friend actually attempting to overclock his CPU or GPU... he is not like that at all. You think the CPU I chose for him would have any trouble with modern games? It's hard for me to judge how powerful a CPU must be.... when I personally experience framerate tickyness, I usually chalk it up to my GPU getting older and game tech getting newer/more resource intensive... but if this AMD build will work for him, then that's all he really needs... he can always upgrade to a Phenom quad core down the line as well, if need be.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    should be fine for most
    would suck on the likes of GTA4
    shit, even my Q6600 works its ass off with GTA4. its just a bad port

    fyi, that 7750 and E5200 are often used on HTPCs or workstations.
    he should at least try to oc whichever he picked above 3GHz.
     

Share This Page