A&P File Transfer / WinXP question

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by JaimeZX, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Our 20D Just showed up yesterday. We are excited! :)

    When I transfer pictures from my Sony 707, I follow this procedure:
    * Plug in Sony and turn it on
    * Window pops up with pictures
    * I "Select All," then "Cut"
    * I type my pictures folder address in the address bar of the window
    * I "paste" the pictures into the other folder

    (Modification: If the pictures are particularly important I'll "Copy & Paste," then go back to delete the files on the camera.)

    With the 20D though, Windows shows it as "Digital Camera" rather than "Removable Media" and it won't let me cut and paste. This is very irritating because it requires a whole extra step.

    Suggestions other than "don't cut & paste?"

    Thanks much.
     
  2. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    card reader
     
  3. 00soul

    00soul halfsharkalligatorhalfman

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    28,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the overlook hotel
    .

    alot faster and cut and paste capable
     
  4. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    :werd:

    cntl A + cntl X ftw

    Jim, you still own the black Z32TT?
     
  5. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    *sigh* I was hoping to avoid a cardreader. Oh well.

    Still have the Z; thinking about selling it though. :sad2:
     
  6. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    They're cheap, just buy one =)
     
  7. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    I know but my Sony I can just plug in, and the Sony & Canon both use the standard USB camera plug, so I was hoping to limit it to one cable in the computer. You know. :hs:

    I need to find a registry hack to make the Canon show up as "Removable Media." :squint:
     
  8. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    /shrug dunno, I've never used the USB cables to transfer my data. I had a habit of forgetting to turn off the camera once I was done.
     
  9. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    card readers are faster and you don't use the cameras power.

    my monitor (2405fpw) has one built in
     
  10. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    I think I'll just deal with the annoyance unless someone knows of a registry hack. I've no interest in getting a cardreader. At least not now. :hs:
     
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    try changing the connection mode in the cameras menu from print pop to whatever the other setting is, turn camera off and on, plug in again.. dont remember if it worked or not, its been a while
     
  12. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Yah, I switched from "Normal" to "P2P" with no effect. :hs:

    Thanks though. :)
     
  13. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    card reader it is ;)
     
  14. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    instead of cut and paste, why don't you copy and paste then format the card in the camera to erase the pics? I never suggest using your computer to delete the photos from your card since PC's in particular leave bits of data during the delete that aren't necessary.
     
  15. JaimeZX

    JaimeZX Formerly of :Sep 2001: fame - Also: Sprout Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    I suppose I could do that. Again, it's just a change from the system I'm used to... :hs:
     
  16. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    or just run the transfer wizard in windows xp ;)
     
  17. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    You went from a Sony to a Canon DSLR, so there's one change. Might as well change another
     
  18. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I plug in the XT, it comes up with a window that lets me click once and all the images are copied to the drive. It doesn't get much easier than that.
     

Share This Page