A&P FFFFFUUUUUU...i'm a scrub

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Cicada, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    :wtc: So yesterday I shot some crappy holiday pictures for my GF's sisters' family; thought they came out good, get them into lightroom and they're underexposed as FUCK. :rofl:

    I shot RAW, the pictures looked properly exposed and looked great on the LCD -- googled some shit this morning and found out that I had Highlight Tone Priority and Auto Lighting Optimizer enabled; I had no idea this affected the way they look in JPG/on the LCD, but have no effect on RAW (and, like a faggot, I didn't check my histogram).

    the pictures are workable, but the really dark ones will probably have a lot of noise/posterization. FML

    I pretty much shoot in JPG because I've never really shot anything too important :mamoru:, but seeing as how some of these pictures, almost completely black, can be fixed.....I think i'm a RAW kinda guy now :o

    live and learn? :hs:
     
  2. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hella
    Histrogram
     
  3. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    I know; i'm a faggot :rofl:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    fucking FAIL

    :bowrofl:
     
  5. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    i normally have it set to preview w/ histogram..but uhhhh...i kinda forgot once i saw the pictures coming out "looking" fine on the LCD. Also my first shot at using studio lights (borrowed a friend's set)
     
  6. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    wow :eek3: that is very underexposed.
     
  7. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    Well here's your problem sparky. You obviously thought you were outside in the bright sun.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Ty Webb

    Ty Webb You don't have to go to college. This isn't Russia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bushwood Country Club
    F11 indoors? Dayum.
     
  9. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    :(

    the previews are pretty much how they looked in the LCD, so, (again, without checking the histogram because i forgot, and i figured since they looked okay...) I kept on shooting.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    LCDs lie. i need to turn my brightness down now that i think of it. LCD always looks gorgeous, histogram forms a nice LOL.

    when histogram is right, LCD looks blown out and bright. i need to lower LCD brightness
     
  11. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    lol iso 100, f/11, and 1/250 shutter indoors
     
  12. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    bingo!
     
  13. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    :werd: all of this could have been avoided, but i was kinda nervous, plus first time using strobes, chimping around cuz i dont have a light meter (lol, didnt check histo, lol)

    luckily, many of hte pictures are recoverable. at least i know for next time :o

    lots of flash, plus inexperience and trusting the LCD :( i opened up 1-2 stops on some pictures and those came out a little bit better, but still underexposed.
     
  14. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    please please please dont rely on exposure, recovery, fill light and blacks, to fix that

    use the tone curve adjustments
     
  15. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    :cool:
     
  16. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    how about just converting to Jpg in DPP and all will be forgiven, sine it will render the RAW exactly how you saw it on the Lcd.

    and btw f11 at 1/250 @iso100 is not totally uncommon indoors when using monolights
     
  17. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    Here's one of the ones that's still underexposed, but not nearly as bad as the other one
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Cicada

    Cicada OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    143,877
    Likes Received:
    904
    Location:
    SoCal
    will try, thanks.

    ty sir, i knew i wasn't crazy :hs:
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2009
  19. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    PS: both my cams lcd settings are set to -2. Nikon is notorious for bright lcds
     
  20. Ty Webb

    Ty Webb You don't have to go to college. This isn't Russia

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bushwood Country Club
    Didn't know you were using lights. Next time - Run a few test shots with the strobes and check the histogram to ensure exposure is right if you don't have a meter.
     
  21. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    thanks i need to change my d90. it's still all the way up or whatever it came from new
     
  22. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    I have monolights and use them all the time. I have never, ever shot at f/11 ISO 100. Then again, I don't usually shoot product shots where a deep aperture would be useful.
     
  23. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hella
    so much for

    5DII MANUAL RAW
     
  24. MawcDrums

    MawcDrums Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    62,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zebes
  25. MawcDrums

    MawcDrums Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    62,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zebes
    I'm always worried about me completely fucking up a shoot.. then being like "Hey guys, could we do that again?" :rofl:
     

Share This Page