Few Questions

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. Robb

    Robb Guest

    What would cause my comp to freeze and restart? Its done this twice now and it says that it has suffered a critical error after it reboots. This only happens if i leave my computer on overnight and then do something stressful on it , like encode movies or something.

    Also, why is there a lag when i click on start and then my computer, it takes like 3 seconds for all my drives to show up? Any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    heat, drivers, phase of the moon, etc.

    Honestly, I'd backup your data, and do a format. Even if my system is running fine, a format makes it run more smoothly.
     
  3. Robb

    Robb Guest

    cool, whats the best program for backing up my data, i have like 30gbs i need to back up.
     
  4. Robb

    Robb Guest

    it seems that it made a log, and it did a mindump, whats that mean?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it dumped some key information of what the system has hardware/software wise, along with information about what it was doing, and what was in ram. This is to help MS troubleshoot if you choose to submit a crash report to them.

    As for data backup, I always favor the second HD method. If that is not possible, do you have a DVD burner?
     
  6. Robb

    Robb Guest

    ya i have a dvd burner
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    then I'd say burn a few DVDs for your backup.
     
  8. Robb

    Robb Guest

    is there some kind of program i need to do this or how do i go about that?
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do you have nero? If so, create a new "data dvd" and throw as much as you can fit on a disc (usually 4.7GB if you have a SL burner/media) Then repeat as many times as neccessary to get all your data backed up.

    do NOT backup programs... Only back up files such as text documents, videos, etc.
     
  10. Robb

    Robb Guest

    why should i not back up programs? I really need some of these programs
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you cannot back up programs. they must be re-installed from their original media (such as CD)
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    even if they have a restore cd, I recommend you throw it away. Stick to fresh formats. Most restore cd's just add crap.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on the company. Sony, for example, is the worst, with several gigabyte of crap, including spyware... Much better off starting fresh.
     

Share This Page