SRS Feeling numb

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by obsidian image, Jul 4, 2008.

1. obsidian image

obsidian image New Member

So I'm kinda new at this and I've been lurking around for a bit but I figured I might as well give it a shot.

For some reason I just can't find myself to care about anything. Even things I should care about like school and family and stuff. I can't care enough to try harder in school and as a result I'm being threatened to be kicked out. And even then, I still can't care. My family was a little shaky a while ago and I had to pretend as if I cared then so that I wouldn't look like a complete douchebag for not. Even one of my friends had a breast cancer scare but still... I was more like "tell me how it goes on your exam!" and I had to force myself to remember and ask about it. I don't really care about anything future wise either. I feel as if I'm kinda going no where right now due to my horrible grades and I just can't get myself out of it. This has been going on now for about two years or so.

The thing is I don't really want this feeling of not caring to last forever but at the same time I don't really care if I do or not. It's a horrible cycle. I don't really know what to do about it. I mean I'm already going to a therapist but it's not really helping seeing as I've been with him since February. Is anyone else familiar with this experience?

tl;dr version: I'm feeling numb and I can't bring myself to care about anything.

2. Darketernal

Darketernal Watch: Aria The Origination =)

What you are essensially doing wrong has got very little to do with caring or not caring.

I know your situation very well, if you have everything in life, why would you bother to care for school? If other people are having a terrible time cancer/dying why would you care? Here is the gist.

When things go personally wrong with you, then YOU are the one who suffers the negative consequenses. Do the math.