Fed up with spyware - going to wipe my hard drive.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by D-FENS, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. D-FENS

    D-FENS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried Ad-Aware, Spybot, Microsoft Antispyware Beta, everything, and my other computer is still completely fucked with spyware. I saved all my essential files onto a CD, and I am now ready to delete my entire hard drive, and start fresh.

    How do I go about deleting everything, and starting fresh (Windows XP)?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Insert the XP cd into your computer, reboot, watch the screen and it'll ask you to press a key to boot from cd. Do so. Follow the instructions, and when it gets to the screen about your hard drive(s), you want to delete everything on there (D) and create a new partition. If given the option, you want to do an NTFS Quick Format.

    Be *EXTRA* sure to install your chipset drivers FIRST THING after completing windows setup.
     
  3. D-FENS

    D-FENS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    And chipset drivers are...?

    Sorry, you'd really think that for a kid whose dad fixes computers for a living would know a little something about computers. Sadly, I don't
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what type of computer is it? Dell, HP, home-built? If home-built, what motherboard is in it?

    Chipsets are the "brains" of the motherboard. They allow everything to talk to everything else. Drivers are the middle-men for software and hardware. Drivers allow the software (like windows) to talk correctly with the chipset.

    Most systems are Intel, nVidia, or Via these days.
     
  5. Monstrddg

    Monstrddg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    format the hd , re-install, stay off porn sites
     
  6. D-FENS

    D-FENS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no idea. I guess I'll just wait a while till my dad gets home.
     
  7. D-FENS

    D-FENS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried formatting the HD, but it wouldn't let me. And yes, I'll stick with Kazaa for my porn from now on.
     
  8. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    Awesome. Install a spyware generating program first off. :ugh2:
     
  9. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0

    :rofl:


    He's right, kazaa is loaded with adaware, most p2p programs are. Sorry :wtc:
     
  10. sboldman

    sboldman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you must, I believe Kazaa Lite is a whacked down (minus spyware) version of Kazaa. Don't use P2P personally, but it may be a safer option for you.

    Make sure you don't delete any partitions that you have not backed up!

    How are you trying to format the drive? Thru XP setup?
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Man, you still have to install chipset drivers on Windows? Why wouldn't they come with the OS?

    </trolling>
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you really need to install them on linux, too... ever used an nvidia board?
     
  13. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I have an nVidia board and haven't installed a thing for it since I started using Ubuntu. I just did the install and everything worked.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    then it was included with the distro... And it's probably fairly outdated (of course updating the system fixes that).

    But that also adds to the horrible bloat that ubuntu has.
     
  15. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You keep going on about the bload that Ubuntu has, but honestly I don't care. It runs as fast as I need it to, hardly uses any CPU or RAM and isn't a pain in the ass to setup like Gentoo is.

    Anyway, yes, it was included with the distro (and if it needed to be updated it was updated since I grab updates nearly every day). Which was my point - why aren't they included with Windows? It seems to me that it would make sense, so you can actually have everything working the first time you boot up.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they are included, somewhat. for example, most p3 chipsets are supported out-of-box in XP. The problem is that XP's driver base hasn't been updated since 2001, and there have been at least a few ( ;) ) changes since then. And even for those that are supported out of box, there's almost certainly an update worth applying...

    So I always say to simply apply the latest chipset drivers whenever you install windows.
     
  17. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Heh, what a great excuse - it's not that they're not included, it's just that the OS is out of date :mamoru:

    This has been fun, we should argue in a friendly manner more often.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    If you use the original CD (was released in 2001, I think) then yes, it's gonna be out of date. If you use a more-recent SP2 cd, it's gonna be fairly close to current. The thing with Windows is they have only a couple "revisions" per release. Linux distros are usually constantly re-doing their ISOs. And remember that drivers are mostly compiled in the kernel (or as modules) which is constantly getting a facelift. With windows, the kernel remains mostly un-changed, and drivers occupy a seperate layer.

    Then there's Apple... You don't have to update the machine because you can just wait a couple months and they'll have a new version that you have to pay for :mamoru:
     
  19. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Why bother if you are installing Kazaa? This is going to happen all over again.

    Avoid porn, joke, screensaver and mp3 sites and you can avoid 85% of all spyware. Most things on the internet are free because they include spyware.
     
  20. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Where can I get the newest chipset drivers for my motherboard? I have a Asus P4P800-E Deluxe with Intel 865PE (North Bridge) and Intel ICH5R (South Bridge) chipsets.
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  22. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    I just wanted to avoid downloading the wrong files. So I figured I would ask some of the more knowledgeable people on here first, but excuse me if I inconvienced you, thanks anyway.
     

Share This Page