FCP crew/mac crew: DVD ripping

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Climbing Cracker, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    I need to rip this DVD so I can pull clips off of it for promotional material. I'm not breaking any copyright laws, etc. It's for a client. I used Handbrake once, worked fine. However, when I go to use it now, it asks me to upgrade to the newest version. Well, the newest version doesn't work with OSX 10.4.11. When I click "discard," it just closes. I can't use it.

    So, does anyone know what's up or what's another program/method I can use to get this DVD into FCP?
     
  2. Stemby

    Stemby Whoooose House? COOOOOOOOOOOOGS HOUSE!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston,Tx
    mpeg streamclip and mac the ripper
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    get leopard :dunno:
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I had the same problems recently...
    go into your preferences and turn off "automatically check for updates" and restart
    it'll act normal after that...
     
  5. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    thanks. I'll do this first thing in the morning when I'm back. :bowdown:
     
  6. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i was working on a project and kept having the same issue, thinking this is pretty fucked... forced to upgrade, but i can't cause my work computer isn't leopard.... weird...

    so i went to a co-workers computer and check and hers worked fine, looked at the preferences of both and noticed she didn't have updates on... so i changed it on mine and it worked normally...

    weird bug.
     
  7. Climbing Cracker

    Climbing Cracker I am the Devil. And I am here to do the Devil's w

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    23,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, Los Angeles, Nairobi
    came through in fine style, my man. worked like a fucking charm. :h5:
     

Share This Page