Fast twitch workout for a drummer...

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Mugen92GS-R, Jun 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mugen92GS-R

Mugen92GS-R New Member

Hey everyone. I'm a drummer and I'm interested in finding a workout routine that will promote faster playing and more endurance. I'm already very skilled, now I just need to work on my endurance / speed / making it as tight as I can.

I have a buddy who's a senior for a PE degree and he's set up a routine for me but I wanted you guys input as well. It mainly includes arms / chest and legs, almost all fast twitch muscle training (lower weight, faster / more explosive reps).

Basically he's got me doing bench press, calf raises, squats, tricep extensions, and I'm going to throw in something for my forearm and shoulders / upper back as well.

Any of you have any input?

2. Doog

Doog New Member

looks good to me.

on an interesting note since I introduced my drummer to eating right and working out, his intensity. accuracy and 'power' have improved nicely

edit: on second look, some core work could only be beneficial to your accuracy...

Last edited: Jun 5, 2008
  3. pharmokan

pharmokan OT Supporter

u can start with forearm exercises. they are essential to having fast wrist motion, something u use often.

best workout for u would be punching bag cardio.

4. m0untaind3w

m0untaind3w OT Supporter

speed bag

5. cheet

cheet OT Supporter

cocaine

6. elduderino323

elduderino323 OT Supporter

weighted drumming sticks

7. keeler

keeler New Member

faster playing!=better playing
    if you want to play faster, i suggest pure crystal meth

8. Mugen92GS-R

Mugen92GS-R New Member

You think I don't know that? I've been playing for over 13 years, I'm not an amateur. I want to be able to play faster while still keeping it tight.

But hey, thanks for the serious reply!

9. giz

giz Active Member

:ugh2:

10. Jeebus

Jeebus Well-Known Member

lead drum sticks.

11. michael