eyetv + hdhomerun is awesome!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i got an hdhomerun box. i hooked it up to my cable and into my network.
    it works with vista media center, but for some reason some of my local hds don't show up over clear qam. i have an antenna plugged into the one tuner for those channels.

    i installed eyetv on my macbook :bowdown:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    only problem is that i don't get any analog channels with an hdhomerun box...also it makes my macbook fans spin up because it uses about 85% of a processor
     
  3. tekmode

    tekmode Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    102,713
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  4. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    hdhomerun box?
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    [​IMG]

    One Box, Two Digital Tuners, Anywhere on Your Network

    • Supports ATSC over-the-air digital TV.
    • Supports QAM unencrypted cable.
    Works with popular DVR software:

    • Pause, rewind, fast-forward live TV.
    • Record all your favorite TV shows by name.
    • Integrated TV guide (provided by the DVR software).
    Compatible With:

    • Windows Media Center:
      • MCE 2005 32-bit
      • MCE 2005 64-bit
      • Vista MCE 32-bit
      • Vista MCE 64-bit
    • Elgato EyeTV - DVR for Mac
    • MythTV - DVR for Linux
    • SnapStream BeyondTV - DVR for Windows
    • SageTV - DVR for Windows
    • MediaPortal - DVR for Windows
    • GB-PVR - DVR for Windows
    • VLC - Multi-platform media viewer
    • TSReader - MPEG-2 transport stream analysis
    Specifications:

    • 8-VSB (ATSC over-the-air digital TV)
    • QAM64/256 (unencrypted digital cable TV)
    • IR Receiver (signal PC with a standard remote control)
    • 100baseTX high speed network
    • 1 year warranty
    Requirements:

    • 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 (or similar) for HD playback
    • 512 MB RAM (1 GB recommended)
    • 2-4 GB per 1/2 hour of DTV recording
    [​IMG]
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    here it is grabbing video over the air (atsc) and also playing one of my music choice channels (qam)
    [​IMG]
     
  7. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, is this what people use to capture programming that is uploaded to torrents?
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    could be, however it only grabs unecrypted digital qam channels...so you can't get your hbo, starz etc.

    could easily grab ota hd shows, edit out commercials and upload a torrent
     
  9. pirothezero

    pirothezero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    whats the start up price on that setup ?
     
  10. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder what people use to capture HBO shows then? I've downloaded all episodes of Generation Kill in HD, and that's an HBO show.
     
  11. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    paid $160 for the hdhomerun [link]
    it came with coax cables and an ethernet cable, but i ran my own and had an antenna already
    downloaded eyetv = free

    although it doesn't do analog...for that you'd need something like this [link]
     
  12. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    most likely a digital cable box with an active firewire port

    or

    [this]
     
  13. mds2004

    mds2004 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    Maybe with a Slingbox

    http://www.slingmedia.com/go/products
     
  14. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could never figure out how to do that. I had a HD cable box with the firewire port. MacBook and Mini would detect the box, but couldn't figure out the rest. I gave up easily though, since other people already do it and seed programming. I would like to do it myself eventually. guess I'll have to give it another shot.
     

Share This Page