External HD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BlaqueMan, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. i have an old shitty laptop and it kinda sucks. my dad recently got a new comp and scrapped his old one, but i got the hard drive from it, its only about a year old. is there anyway i can hook that hard drive up to my laptop for more memory/space?
    heres what the hard drive looks like:
    its a Barracuda 7200.7
    120 Gbytes
    [​IMG]
    here are the outlets on it
    [​IMG]
    is there anyway i can hook it up to my laptop?
     
  2. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    thats a huge ass harddrive

    do they even make external encloser for that big of a harddrive?
     
  3. Queenpkn

    Queenpkn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    The fuck?

    Looks just like any other 3.5...


    Just get a 3.5 external drive case.
     
  4. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont care about the case, i jsut wanna hook it up to my laptop, are there any wires i can use from the scrapped computer to hook it up to my comp?
     
  5. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

  6. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you sure theres no way i can just hok it up using wires from the scrapped computer? i really dont wanna but anything
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you mean putting the drive inside the laptop, then no.
    Because the cable is different and so is the voltage.
    And these days, laptop drives are smaller too. You might not even be able to fit that inside the laptop.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Voltage is the same... 5V DC.
     
  9. Queenpkn

    Queenpkn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have a similar USB cable. It's quite nice. However, you must provide power through another device (I have a bench DC supply that works well).
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I knew that. :hsd:
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    heh.

    Had you stated that the notebook may not be able to sustain the current demands of the desktop drive, then you would have been correct :wavey:
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well believe it or not, that's what made me think it must be different.
    I can't imagine a laptop battery could sustain high current demands for very long.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on what you consider "high current" demands. Although less demanding than desktop hdds, a notebook hdd is still one of the most demanding components in the notebook (when concerned with power consumption). The inverter powering the LCD backlights is the other big-power component. Some CPUs and chipsets (such as AMD and it's supporting chips) are also notorious for horrible power consumption.

    Bottom line, notebook Li-Ion technology has come a LONG way in the past few years. And running a desktop hdd would certainly be possible if a manufacturer wanted to (but why?).
     
  15. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    they dont call this "offtopic" for nothin
     
  16. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, i didnt mean that, i want it seperate
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, well then your only option is to use an adapter cable like what was posted.
     
  18. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    got that right!
     
  19. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i bought one of those off of ebay, i'd say it works about 25% of the time. maybe mine just sucks, i'm willing to buy this one if it works well

    how would i grab data off of a sata laptop drive?
     
  20. BlaqueMan

    BlaqueMan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    how hard would it be to make that adapter? i have both the wires
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's interesting that you brought up AMD chips' power consumption. Somewhere, sadly I don't remember the site, I read a review that said that while an Athlon 64's maximum power consumption is higher than a Core2Duo's, the power throttling was actually more refined on the Athlon 64 and as such over the course of a day it consumes 1/3 less power than a Core2Duo. I really wish I could remember where I read that; it had charts and graphs and shit, too.
     
  23. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ya, sure. :jerkit:
     
  24. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey now.
     
  25. 1999TL

    1999TL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX

Share This Page