External HD setup?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TL1000RSquid, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Ok so I just ordered a new PC, I have lots of important stuff on my old PC(pr0n, non pr0n vids) I would like to still be able to use the old HD and not have to try to copy everything over. I know nothing about doing external HD setups, I will use usb 2 or firewire, will this be fast enough to access stuff on the drive or will i end up having to copy over to the other drive to run stuff? This is the case I want to order opinions? http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=31389&CatId=1204
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Why don't you just put your old drive in as a slave in the new PC??
     
  3. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    compact case no available room or thats what I would do.
     
  4. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,060
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    -> . <-
    as long as you use usb2 or firewire you'll be able to watch your videos without having to copy them over. i watch videos over my network all the time, and that's only 100Mbit. usb2 is 480Mbit/s.
     
  5. Jerboy

    Jerboy Guest

    Firewire > USB 2.0
    USB2.0 = higher peak throughput, Firewire = better sustained throughput
     
  6. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    alright thanks guys i will spend a bit more and get a case that offers both USB and Firewire support
     

Share This Page