GUN Explain to me the logic of a "break in period"

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by SpicyMcVoodoo, Jan 9, 2006.

  1. SpicyMcVoodoo

    SpicyMcVoodoo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under the 10 freeway.
    My Kahr PM9 says it's not reliable before a break in period of 200 rounds. Which sounds right, because of the 150 I shot today, 25% were failures to feed. :squint: Anyway, what is the logic behind this period? What happens to the gun during those 200 rounds which makes it more reliable? And why the hell did the gun refuse to feed Cor Bon +P but consistently fed Winchester ball point?
     
  2. A96HondaAccordCoupeEX

    A96HondaAccordCoupeEX Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    37,993
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    CA
    to get all the parts to loosen up a bit.
     
  3. Y2kAccord

    Y2kAccord Everything happens for reasons I just dont know

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    56,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Bound!
    my RRA AR said you didnt need to break it in :dunno:
     
  4. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    It's mechanical, parts need to wear in and loosen up. I dont know the particular gun do other people with them have problems with corbons? might need to fine tune the feed ramp
     
  5. 2L Bunny

    2L Bunny "It's only a Rabbit"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OR
    Break ins are to smooth out any factory machining marks and smooth all the metal to metal contacts. Some people help to expedite the slide to frame break in by applying some jewelers rouge to the rails and work the slide back and forth a LOT.
     
  6. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    The trigger might smooth out a bit after the initial firing. Plus like any mechanical device that consists of metal parts moving against each other, things have to bed in a bit.

    Even fine mechanical pieces can only be machined to a certain tolerance. A little bit of actual use helps parts mate together better.
     
  7. because most guns aren't superior right out of the box like a Glock is. :embd:
     
  8. lobstradomus

    lobstradomus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Ive heard otherwise, some say you should leave the cosmoline on for at least 200 rounds, others say to take it off before your first shot. I'm still not sure what I'm going to do with it when I get my 19.
     
  9. Bigsnake

    Bigsnake OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    34,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    Just take it out and pump 500 rounds through it.
     
  10. krott5333

    krott5333 Guest

    :hsugh:

    there shouldnt be any cosmoline on a Glock.. cosmo is for older surplus guns, long term storage.

    Glocks do have a little anti-sieze compound on the rails though, it wont hurt anything, I just add a few drops of oil here and there and fire away.
     
  11. RonJeremey

    RonJeremey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    31,820
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Pearland, Texas
    DAWT. Why the hell would there be cosmoline on a glock... talk about a clogged up firing pin channel... :ugh2:

    Oh, and I didn't oil mine, just put 250 rounds through it right out of the box. Cleaned and oiled right after that though. :o
     
  12. krott5333

    krott5333 Guest

    no biggie.. glocks dont really need that much oil anyway.
     

Share This Page