.exe install problem with vista

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jmezz, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. jmezz

    jmezz layin in bed stretchin my pumped quads for hours

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11,130
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have a program I use on xp and when I tried to put it on a laptop with vista, I got an error that said it couldn't run rnsta.exe or something like that.

    How do I get the program to work on vista?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    right click on exe, properties, compatibility tab, run in XP compatibility mode
     
  3. jmezz

    jmezz layin in bed stretchin my pumped quads for hours

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11,130
    Likes Received:
    8
    I should have added that in my original post. I tried that too and I still got the same error.
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    try run as administrator or disable UAC and run it
     
  5. jmezz

    jmezz layin in bed stretchin my pumped quads for hours

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11,130
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is disable UAC an option on the same menu as 'run as administrator,' or do I have to go somewhere else for that?

    Also, if those 2 suggestions don't work, what should I do then?

    This is my first time playing around in vista so that's why I'm an idiot right now.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's got a different kernel. Just like XP has a different kernel than Win2000. That means, even if they built it to have the same functional specs, there will be different quirks in its operation. It's an unavoidable side effect of rebuilding something from scratch.
     

Share This Page