Exchange and Windows Server 2003

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sexual Vanilla, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Hey guys,

    I work for a small (10-15 employee) business which currently uses 2 POP mail accounts. I'm looking into getting Exchange and Windows Server 2003, so we won't have to rely on the external POP servers any longer, as well as the benefits of collaboration that Exchange and Outlook can provide. We would also use this as a simple file server with remote access as well.

    I am not familiar with Exchange nor Server 2003, so my question is this: what kind of specs will we need on the computer that will be running Exchange and Windows Server? We have a fairly new desktop that isn't being used, it's a P4 3.0 ghz with a gig of RAM. Would that be enough for what we would use it for? Thanks in advance! :bigthumb:
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    add a gig or 2 of ram and youll be good


    also look in to windows 2003 small bus. server
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i wouldn't even go to exchange at this point

    too small of a company to deal ith it's costs
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Cost isn't really an issue. Like I said, we have a computer, and I can get Microsoft software for free from my college's partnership with MSDN.:bigthumb:
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    cost aside, it's still too much for too few ppl

    you just don't have a need for exchange
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I run exchange at home - 1 user :rofl:
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Most of our office staff is out in the field the majority of the time, so communication is usually done by phone only. That being said, the collaboration capabilities that Exchange would provide would be beneficial regardless of the number of users.
     
  8. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ

    i do also but I never brag about it lol
     
  9. crazybenf

    crazybenf Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    15,575
    Likes Received:
    2
    That will be fine for 10-15 users.. if it's sluggish, add another GB of ram.


    I have a few clients running 2k3 data center + exchange with 5 employees off of p3 1.0 512MB boxes... perfectly fine setup.
     
  10. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    Thats probably against the license agreement.

    What do you use it for?
     
  11. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Shhhhhhhhhhhhhh
    Besides...what use would a college student have with Exchange Server anyway? I'm not exactly sure why they offer it.
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Originally it was intended for my company I started but then I found a job - which was good because my boss was a slack ass. Then I used it for practice - used Exchange 2000 but not 2003. I still use it for home use.

    Overkill? Sure. But I can use it for test bedding so I keep it running. Server isn't doing anything anyway.

    Oh yeah - you don't need any memory upgrades if you don't want to spend the money - you don't have enough users to warrant it. I bet you won't even notice the difference if you do upgrade. The one server I do have at home is a 1st gen Ahtlon processor with 384 MB running W2K3, exchange and IIS.
     
  13. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    I was thinking of giving it a shot, but wasnt sure what use I would get out of it.
     
  14. giovanna145

    giovanna145 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW (Down-For-Wateva
    best bet is to spec out a dell poweredge server 1750 or 1850 (i'd recommend a used one, great bargin) dual proc and 2 gigs of mem is more then plenty for a 15 user envrionment, 2003 standard will be good, with sp1 you can increase you data store size above 16 gigs if need be, so scalability is always available in case you need it
     
  15. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm in a similar environment: 20 machines, 30 users. A single P4 2.x with 2GB RAM handles Win Server '03, Exchange (box per user), file serving, virus protection (rollouts) + Win update (rollouts), and also runs all backup capability.

    At first we were running 1GB RAM. The server would take a shit once a month. I upped the RAM to 2GB and have had no issues for >8 months now.

    There are huge fines for stealing Server '03 and Exchange. Careful now, as this can take a small business down.

    If you need to expand in the future, get another server. Hardware is cheap.
     
  16. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    If I were to set it up I would just be testing it with one or two users at home to get aquainted with Exchange for the future. I have a quad PIII Xeon that would do the job just fine.

    Where I've been working since I was 19 has always used Lotus Notes. :o
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2006

Share This Page