A&P Everyone is talking about backup, What hard drives do you use?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by OlafBeserka, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. OlafBeserka

    OlafBeserka girls pee pee when they see me OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hella Bay Area
    Ive been looking for a couple new hard drives to dedicate for photos only. I have 2 x 500gb drives with programs and other media(music & misc crap) and they are around 75% full on each. I have a 1tb drive, but that has all my hd movies.

    Im thinking of getting another tb for all the photos I have which is only about 80-100gb. And another external 500gb to backup to. Is this a good idea or should I use a small drive for photos? I think once I start shooting more gigs in raw the drive will fill up fast.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Lol McRofles

    Lol McRofles Lollers OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,823
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just get a big drive especially if you're going to be shooting raw. There's nothing wrong with having extra space but if you buy a small one and it fills up right away you're going to have to buy another one.
     
  3. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've got 3 250gb wd sata drives in my desktop and 4 250gb sata drives in a server that will be set up with a raid5 card either tomorrow or thurs to back up my photos and important documents too.
     
  4. Twisted STi

    Twisted STi All wheel or no wheel OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    :jealous:

    ive got one 500gb WD external
     
  5. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i brought 6 of the drives and the server/raid card home from work :mamoru: free shit for me when they upgrade ftw
     
  6. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,813
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just bought a larger case for my old athlon 64 3200+ and i'm working on sticking some drives in there with raid 5
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    all i have is a 250gb in my machine and a 250 external...
     
  8. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cool: going with a hardware raid5 card? or software? mine is only an old 2.0 p4 :mamoru: for a file server and nothing more, its more than enough. i didn't want the dual xeon board cause it would be overkill and use a fuckload more power. :o
     
  9. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,813
    Likes Received:
    8
    nothing now :rofl: just got laid off

    everything, including photog equipment going on the backburner till i find another job
     
  10. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I have 1 internal 500gb, and 1 external 500 gb and 1 external but only powered to transfer 500gb. Everything on the non powered 500gb is also burned in dupicate to dvd
     
  11. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    I recently purchased (this morning) a WD Passport 320GB

    I wanted the smaller physical size because I wanted it to be able to fit in my laptop bag very easy. But I knew I had to go with the biggest size available. The only one I found was 320GB. I should be good to go with that for a while.
     

Share This Page