Ethernet port splitter?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Reverend, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. Reverend

    Reverend OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Has anyone ever used one?

    I have an RJ45 wall jack at work, and I just need something simple to split the signal from one line to two. Does anyone know of a specific product that's cheap and readily available at any store that might work?

    Thanks,
    Reverend Al
     
  2. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    how about a cheap hub?
     
  3. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    yes..... they're $10
     
  4. Deevan

    Deevan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA Posts: 4
    buy a hub or switch. It's not like an analog cable where you can just split it.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, this is called a switch....


    and you should not be using a computer.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't talk with your ass full. As this post demonstrates, shit comes out when you do.
     
  7. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've made such a device before, for sniffing a network. But that is probably not what you want. I had the EE department where I worked make one of these: http://www.snort.org/docs/tap/ for debugging problems on a network.

    You want a small switch. They are very, very cheap. Like $10. Buy one. A 5 port.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i don't think a hub would help...especially if your trying to grab an ip address for both ethernet connections...wait, i might be wrong on this.

    just get a little switch, that way it doesn't have 2 collision domains

    i like that tap. we did something like that a couple of years ago in class, where we halftapped a wire and got to see a bunch of packets
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you are wrong on this.

    any many other things.

    Such as the collision domains.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    care to explain how my post (saying he needs a switch) is in ANY way wrong?

    yeah, exactly what I thought. You can't. Tool.
     
  11. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    :ugh:

    where to start...................
    1 wrong
    2 it would work just fine
    3 you're right...you're wrong
    4 finally, good adivce
    5 you need to re-read the switching section of that book
    6 what class?
     
  12. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    if you need to just split the medium, and IP addresses are accounted for (if you're at work, odds are they are, and you have a DHCP server setup for that), get a hub or a switch...both will do, a hub will be fine, a switch will be better, but again both will do

    IF you need for something to manage IP addresses, get a cheap router..but I don't think that's what you are trying to do, as you said 'work'

    basically it should go

    RJ 45 -> hub/switch/router -> 2 coming out

    a hub is a dumb switch, what makes them diff is that the switch forwards packets based on an ARP table, which contains the MAC and the IP of the PC's that are connected to it, so when it receives data, it decapsulates it, reads who it belongs to, matches it with the ARP table and forwards it only ot that specific someone...whereas a hub just forwards and dumps that information down all the ports, hence why a switch performs better...but because you only have 2, a hub will do fine

    I hope that answeres your Q
    GL
     
  13. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    you guys fucking argue like a bunch of bitches on PMS who each have the same fucking purse, and are jealous of each other fucking each other's bf

    give it up already, you make the geek section of OT retarded
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  14. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    well you sounded like an asshole to someone asking a question. :ugh:
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  16. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ya, big collision domain between two fucking PC's on a HUB probally using 1/10th of the alloted t base 100

    read up on collision domains, and use common sense when applying them, the 'best' solution is not always the 'best' solution

    a hub would do fine in this case, and I guarentee you he won't notice the diff..oh yes, he might, a heavier wallet :fawk:
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey man, a fat wallet is a serious health risk. Remember George Kastanza (I don't care about the spelling) on Seinfeld? If the guy doesn't spend more money, he could end up with bruising of the buttocks.
     
  18. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd have to look real hard to even FIND a hub for a 10/100 ethernet now adays. Most boxes labeled hubs are really switches.
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wrong again...

    Hubs are hard to find, and switches are typically CHEAPER now!
     
  20. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    i'll sell you a 4 port d-link wireless (.g) router/switch for $30 shipped if you want
     
  21. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    he can buy a .b in best buy for $19
     
  22. Reverend

    Reverend OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Thanks to everyone who wasn't an ass about it. I do really appreciate the info.
     

Share This Page