equalizer settings for noobs

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Valence, Aug 8, 2003.

1. Valence

Valence Gustav Refugee

I am a noob to audio, and I was wondering if there was a site that explained equalizer settings for the noob, what does what, what it does for overall sound quality, etc.

2. Valence

Valence Gustav Refugee

Well, can anyone help me out?

3. 04

04 Guest

Well what do you want it to do?

I would leave it flat and don't change anything.

If you know how to use an equilizer than it can IMPROVE sound quality. However, I don't know your definition of sound quality so I don't know what you want to do. Do you want a flat frequency response?

4. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

Ok, yea, this subject needs exploring in my world so let's talk.

I have a pioneer deh-9300HU. Here's how it's setup now which is freaking amazing compared to how I've set it up before.

I have the hpff set to 125 b/c the focals pop with it any lower (power problem-= too much power?) the Loud feature which auto amplifies quiet sounds and quiets loud sounds I have ON... umm.. shit I'm going to need to get on my HU to write all this out... umm.. then I have it set for the sub to recieve all frequ below 125hz (from what I understand) ... BBE I have off.. the stage is set to none ... the band set to default (this is like concert/jazz/etc. etc.) ... a couple more setting I'm forgetting... then I have the equalizer settings. From left to right it goes from 0-300hz (I'm guessing here) to the next up/down thing which is 300-500.. etc... etc.. Now these bars go up to 5000 or 8000 or whatever but I'm wondering what that means. Obviously from playing with them you can turn bass down and your high's up/down etc.. but what are these settings by definition (anyone know what I mean here. :) )

Also I'd really like a response to that thing about the front speakers popping.. Could that be because too much power is being fed to them?

Thanks. :)

5. 04

04 Guest