Enabling integrated video card...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by crackerjack, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Hey, I am in desperate need of help. I have an ancient computer and my vid card (NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200) seems to have lost some integrity. I don't have the funds right now to go and get a new vid card, so I was wondering if there was a way I could just use the integrated vid card on my motherboard instead. I am pretty much a novice when it comes to messing with bios and whatnot...so I'm gonna need some step by step instructions.
    Any suggestions?:noes:
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    did you pull the nVidia card out?

    when I plugged mine in the on-board video automatically disabled...physically remove your nvidia card and maybe it'll re-enable?
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    First, you obviously have to connect your monitor to the onboard vga connector.

    It probably is a good idea to unplug the gforce card like 7960 said, as well.

    As far as bios goes, you just hit F1 and or delete when you see the post screen
    as your pc is booting up.
    That takes you to bios.

    Using your keyboard arrows, scroll to the advanced tab and hit enter.

    Look for a setting for video configuration, or something similar.

    Hit enter, and then using your + and - keys, scroll to the one that
    is for onboard graphics and hit enter.

    Then using your arrows, scroll to the last tab and select exit and save.

    Done.
     
  4. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I'll try that^
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hey, when you're at the video configuration page...
    You have to hit esc to get back to the main page.

    I forgot to mention that.
     
  6. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I can't seem to find an option for onboard graphics in the bios. There is an option for the integrated audio controller, but no graphics card. I know there IS an integrated video card because there is a VGA connector on the motherboard. Any ideas?
     
  7. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    did you physically remove the nvidia card?
     
  8. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yea, I removed the nvidia card and plugged in my monitor to the integrated VGA connector, but I get no output.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe it's named funny. Just try clicking on everything in the advanced tab.
     
  10. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    is there a possibility that i might have to uninstall the driver for the nvidia card and then maybe the integrated vid card will kick in??
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. The BIOS controls which video adaptor is active.
     
  12. Jago

    Jago It helps if you hit it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    27,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about enabling in Device Manager?
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That would be a software adjustment though, and there would have to be one at the hardware level.

    I'm wondering if that particular motherboard doesn't have a jumper for onboard video.

    But since thread starter hasn't mentioned the model... :dunno:
     
  14. crackerjack

    crackerjack just creepin by

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    fixed it!:bigthumb: Emmet was right. thank you everybody!
     

Share This Page