Embarrassed to go to the gym :(

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Asylum, May 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Asylum

Asylum Guest

I'm not going to lie, i'm a fatass. I'm like 5'10 and 235 pounds with a 45 inch waist, I really hate the way my body looks and I wanted to do something about it, so I joined a gym and I was so motivated to lose all this weight.

Yesterday was my first day working out at the gym, since i'm just starting out I did some pretty easy stuff on the eliptical machine, tread mill, and some light weight lifting.

There were so many hot girls and huge body builders at the gym, I was the only fat person in the entire building and it was so embarassing being on the eliptical machine going slow when there were hot women all around me going fast, I know this sounds pathetic, but I was so concerned with making sure my man boobs and huge stomach weren't jiggling around in front of all these hot women, it was just so humiliating I could barely even focus on what I was doing.

I am just so embarrassed to go back to the gym I don't know what to do. I wish I could work out at home but I can't afford thousands of dollars worth of expensive treadmills and stuff.

Any kind words of advice or anything would be appreciated.

2. cavefish

cavefish You ain't a crook son, you just a shook one

Listen, I'm at the gym almost everyday and I see everything from hot fitness chicks to fat old women to kids who can barely lift anything. And you know what?

I DON'T CARE (well ok the women are nice to look at). Why? Because I'm in the gym trying to improve myself, which is what you're doing, and I don't really give two hammered shits what other people in there think about me or what they're doing.

Now I know you're probably pretty self-conscious about your weight but nobody really cares and as long as you're taking steps to change that then you're on the right track.