electric guitar opinions?

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by deleterious, Jan 8, 2005.

1. deleterious

deleterious OT Supporter

I'm interested in playing the Electric Guitar. Can anyone tell me how hard it was to learn? Also It would be helpful If someone could recommend a good beginner guitar for under 500$. Thanks. All input is appreciated.

2. Juvenall

Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

I personally and a HUGE Jackson guitar fan. If you're looking for a good, solid guitar that works well as a beginer and as a pro, I'd snag one.

Though, if you're really just looking for a starter, try this package from Musician's Friend.
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/518745/

You get the an Epiphone SG (It's the cheep version of the Gibson, but still not a bad guitar), some extras (bag, pics, strings) as well as a small practice amp. Not a bad deal for $250.

Learning to play was really easy for me, but that's because I had a piano background, but it's still not a walk in the park. It will take years to be really good so as long as you start with that understanding, it'll be far less frustrating.

3. TREXSOUND

TREXSOUND New Member

If you`ve never played guitar before my advice is to buy an Acoustic guitar( I bet you can find one for 50 $ ) And then try if It`s something you wanna do.

A good Guitar for under 500$ though is the Yamaha AES620 it costs about 365 £. People say It`s a combined Fender and Gibson...........
    Rock on dude

4. seatmech83

seatmech83 New Member

I would start with an acoustic. They are cheaper initially. Fender Drednaught is like around 200 bucks and is a good entry level. After you get good and you want to switch over to something classy a Les Paul wouldn't hurt.

5. deleterious

deleterious OT Supporter

Uhh, lol im not that musically educated, so the easiest way for me to say this is whats the difference between an acoustic and an electric guitar really?

6. seatmech83

seatmech83 New Member