Eating/Working out v. dorms

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Snowed, Oct 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Snowed

Snowed OT Supporter

I'm a freshman in college and just started about 4 weeks ago. I've been a pretty consistent 160-170 for the past year or so. I just started working out this summer and have been doing pretty good, but I need to change some things up (more on that later.) I don't have access to a freezer or grill, only a fridge/microwave. Anyways, I'm visibly fatter since I came up here, mostly because of the dorm food.

Here's what I eat daily:
    Breakfast (mon-fri): microwaved egg whites on wheat bread w/ cheese and ham OR PB and J
    Breakfast (sat-sun): sleeping, skip to lunch
    Lunch: Salad with ranch dressing/croutons (I've tried oil and can't stand it)
    Some combo of pizza/burgers/grilled cheese/pasta/mac and cheese type dishes until I'm full
    Dinner: Same as lunch except w/ dessert sometimes

When I skip meals and eat in my dorm I'll have something like ramen, easy mac, canned spaghetti, etc.... I try to mix tuna in when I can.

So, my question is, what are some cheap (preferably fast) meals that are high in protein and low in fat that can be cooked/stored with a microwave/fridge? Also, to other people who ate in the dorms, what did you eat? It seems like everything substantial in there is fairly unhealthy.

Second part. I'm doing this workout right now:
    http://www.muscleandstrength.com/workouts/dougs-4-day-split-workout.html

I'm weak as shit in my chest/legs (legs because I'm a pussy and don't work them enough, I have no clue about chest.) I'm thinking of trying 5/3/1, but I've never deadlifted before, and my squats could use some work. I don't have anyone who can really teach me, and I can't pay for a personal trainer. My lower back is already kind of fucked up, will I hurt myself trying to teach myself? Also, how long should I wait before I can get a legit max and start 5/3/1?