Easiest way to trasfer Data

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Silent, Oct 21, 2003.

  1. Silent

    Silent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I have a shitload of files that I need to trasfer to a buddies PC, but I don't have a network setup or anything. What would be the easiest way to just transfer files from 1 pc to the other :dunno:
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Few options.

    1. Create a network quickly with two NICs and a crossover cable..
    2. Serial to Serial
    3. CD-R.
    4. External/USB Hard Drive
     
  3. Silent

    Silent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I'm liking option #1. Both mobo's have a lan controller.

    SO basically, I'd hook them both up with cat5, then just create a network? Never done this before :(
     
  4. picabu

    picabu I like pie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Yes but you must have a crossover cable, not a normal patch cable. Difference between crossover and patch cable is the crossover has a couple wires swapped around.
     
  5. Silent

    Silent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I hope best buy has one :x:
     
  6. Silent

    Silent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    SHIT! Best Buy wants $21.99 for a 7ft crossover cable :riaa:

    newegg has them for 3.50 :o
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    You could always make your own..
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yep - or by a coupler, pop it open and swap the necessary wires (you need to regular patch cables for this)
     
  9. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :bigthumb: good option if you already have a standard patch cable
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    TWO standard patch cables.

    Me fail english? That's unpossible!
     
  11. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    :nuts:


















    :big grin:
     

Share This Page