WEB Easiest way to build a webform that will do this:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jizzmo, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. jizzmo

    jizzmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Capture the form data and put it into a database. I have to be able to sort that data, and extract it if necessary, or run a report on it.

    :sadwavey:
     
  2. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com

    send the form to a php script where you get the values from the post values. Then just use those values to build a sql script to update a database table.
     
  3. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
  4. Insert Tokens

    Insert Tokens Making Cancer My Bitch OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,329
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Tasmania
  5. jizzmo

    jizzmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some of the data submitted in these forms will be sensitive employee information, so I would like to keep it local to our network.
     
  6. brds

    brds OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    17,650
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Atlanta

    do you not have some sort of SQL DB to hold all this info? If not, i wrote a script on OT for a guy a while back that made a text file into a db of sorts... not the best way to do it, but he was in a bind and didn't have any DB's at his disposal
     
  7. jizzmo

    jizzmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just wanted to understand the process so I could research and make a suggestion to our Web dev crew at work.
     
  8. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (lolphone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    Use Drupals Forms API. Everything is practically automated for asks like this.

    Plus you can set permissions on who can view the module.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
  9. jizzmo

    jizzmo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will look into this, our guy for HR is making the intranet site in drupal, so I will discuss it with him and see if he wants to integrate it.
     

Share This Page