Early Impressions of Windows Pro x64

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Noah, Oct 3, 2005.

1. Noah

Noah The things we know best are the things we haven't OT Supporter

[​IMG]

Downloaded the Evaluation Version of Windows x64 over the weekend and have been updating all the drivers and software. I will preface this with the simple fact I am NOT a programmer, technical guru...whatever. I enjoy technology and pushing it to the max.

Install - Once I had downloaded the drivers needed from various sites (Video, sound, etc), and received the e-mail with a Product Key...things went fine. I did have to switch the SATA settings in the BIOS to get the HDD's setup correctly (Combination is the current setting, both HDD's connected to SATA 0 and 2 respectively). The install went no differently than did any other version of Windows. The download was an ISO file, and burned it onto a CD.

Setup - drivers and software install went with ease, save for a few applications. Those that gave error messages were very simple - "This program will not run on your version of Windows." Outside of setting up Admin rights, passwords and re-installing all the software...things went with ease. I am missing drivers for the Printers (A Canon Inkjet and a Sony Thermal Printer) and my Scanner (also a Canon). No word from either vendor as to when x64 drivers will be avail.

Use - this is a seamless transition. There is a choice for Internet Explores, one x32 and one x64. The x64 version seems to run a tad faster than the 32-bit brother. Games (BF2 and HL2) both load noticeably quicker, and there have been no software conflicts as yet. Photoshop I have not had a chance to really use yet, save for some basic editing. It didn't seem to perform any faster or slower...need more time to play with it though. I did run SuperPi for kicks, returned times as follows -

1M - 37 seconds
    2M - 1:26
    8M - 6:39