E7200 flickering between 1.6ghz and 2ghz

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Soren, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. Soren

    Soren OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    37,554
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just installed my E7200 processor and I noticed my processor, via CPU-Z, is showing at 1.6ghz and then flickering occasionally to 2ghz. The multiplier is the one that keeps going from 6.5 to 7.5.

    Should I go into BIOS and change the multiplier to 9.5?
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    leave it alone. it's Intel's Speedstep, a power saving feature.
    at idle/no load, it will throttle down to 6x (1.6ghz)
    at full load, it will throttle back up to 9.5x (2.53ghz)
     
  3. Soren

    Soren OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    37,554
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok thanks.
     
  4. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Even with Speedstep it should not be doing that. Speedstep always drops to a 6x multi. Try running a load on it (Orthos?) And see what it jumps too. It should go straight up to full clock speed, no in betweens.
     
  5. Soren

    Soren OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    37,554
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm running Orthos which says it's at 2.53ghz but when I go into CPUZ it shows 2.00ghz. The multiplier is sticking at 7.5x.

    BIOS shows that the multiplier is also at 7 plus .5. Is that normal? Should I change it to 9.5 in there?
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Ya that isn't normal. Orthos always shows the highest multi. Trust CPU-Z. So definitely set it to 9.5 in the bios. Speedstep will still drop it to 6 when idle though. But you'll be getting full speed at least.
     

Share This Page