e6750 or athlon 64 x2 5000+

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hom3lesshom3boy, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    athlon:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103194

    e6750:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115029

    which is better for a student who'll want to play dota, have AIM, BT, and msword in the background all at once? i'll be matching it up with this mobo:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128059
    or maybe the ds3r, and the xfx8600gt.

    i had posted a build thread way earlier and everyone seemed to jump on the e6750 bandwagon. i don't think anyone gave me a reason why. i know c&p is full of intel sackriders, so can anyone give me the two sides of the coin? Thanks.
     
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    since the athlon won't work with that MB, I say go for the intel.
     
  3. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
  4. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    so what if i got a mobo that would work with the amd?
     
  5. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    The intel is faster, but the amd chip isn't really going to break into a sweat doing what you propose to do with it.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota

    Question,... why are you comparing the 5000+ Brisbane against the E6750?
    Because they are both around 2.6GHz?

    :rofl:
     
  7. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Taking a glance at those CPU's I see the AMD has: L1 Cache 128KB+128KB L2 Cache 2 x 512K
    and the Intel has:
    L2 Cache 4M shared

    Maybe this is one of the reasons for the performance differences. I don't know, but maybe someone could explain for us.

    In my opinion if your not going to be straining the CPU A LOT, like for instance if you were doing video editing/converting then going with the AMD will work. I have the 4600+ (stock) and I run BT/Firfox/Digspy(aim)/foobar2000 95% of the time my computer is running. It doesn't slow me down too much. If I have to open a huge file it might take an extra second but the computer handles these programs fine.

    So IMO, for what your doing the AMD will work fine. BUT, the Intel, if these jokers are right about it's speed, will probobly work much better.

    In summery I'd say get the AMD and overclock it if your poor but if you have the money follow the trend and get the Intel.
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    The architecture between the chips are totally different.
    Core 2's architecture executes more instructions per clock cycle with great power efficiency.
    It is also why a 2.6GHz Intel Conroe is faster than a 3.6GHz Intel Pentium D.

    OP,... You don't compare clock speeds unless the chips belong to the same family.

    That 5000+ Brisbane would have to be overclocked above 3GHz just to match the E6750 at stock 2.66GHz speed.


    Or he could buy the E2180 @ $79.99 and overclock it like hell.
    It will still whoop the 5000+'s ass.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    AMD == Massive FAIL and AIDS

    Intel == SEX




    /thread.
     
  10. Skyline22GTR

    Skyline22GTR OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,081
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando
    everybody like sex
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    except amd fanboys. :mamoru: They like buying inferior products :greddy:
     
  12. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    massive fail and aids why? unstable, poor quality, crap out in <2 years? or is it just fail and aids because it's slower than intel?
     
  13. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    yeah :o
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you don't get to leverage an intel chipset, so you're left with nvidia, which makes an OKAY chipset, but nothing great.... or VIA which is again nothing great.

    So you lose reliability there.

    Secondly, AMD chips generate a lot more heat than a Core chip. They also use more power. This makes them less efficient. Also, they do less work per clock cycle -- again making them less efficient. Also slower.

    Reliability on a CPU is pretty good, regardless of brand. However, the "total package" of mobo/chipset tends to be signifigantly shittier with AMD than you can get with Intel. And since a CPU is worthless without mobo, and a mobo is worthless without chipset, AMD is less reliable, by default -- regardless of which "brand" mobo you sackride... Because even anti-Intel-brand mobo peeps still insist on Intel chipsets. So there is no argument that Intel makes the BEST chipsets.

    AMD is also having MASSIVE problems getting their chips to work properly off the press. If you buy an AMD chip and it works out of box it's most likely going to stay working for a very long time... But most AMD chips are unable to perform to their designed specification... And thus they have to "cripple" the chips to salvage them. This is the same concept that Intel pioneered when they released the Celeron line. Except AMD is now doing it in their "flagship" lineup. As where Intel only ever did it for their low-end to provide a cost-effective entry-level option for consumers, AMD is forced to do it to everyone and attempt to market it as "hey it's just as good"... yea right. Basically that's why AMD is making single/tri-core chips... They are actually dual/quad core chips where one of the cores is defective, so they disable it, and sell it as a single/tri. Intel can reliably make dual/quad core chips and has no need for this. AMD, however, fails in such large quantities to make a tri-core a viable product.

    As a result of this, there is either an inherient failure in design or in manufacturering -- either way it is obviously a poor quality product.

    So let's summarize:

    * Less reliable
    * Poor quality
    * Less efficient
    * Slower
     
  15. michael grabtree

    michael grabtree OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    19,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    4900 Centennial Boulevard
    if you haven't bought your mobo yet, why dont you get the e8400?
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's what I came in here to say.
     
  17. hom3lesshom3boy

    hom3lesshom3boy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    for what i'm going to use it for, why do i need an e8400?
     
  18. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's only $10 more and it's a faster next-gen processor.
     
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not going to argue with most of what you said, but the reason Intel can "reliably make quad-core chips" is because the cores are manufactured separately and connected via gold wires embedded in the body of the chip carrier. So it's really just an old-fashioned multi-CPU setup, with a single carrier and a single heatsink, and a single bus too. Pity they didn't just go all the way and sell separately-packaged cores in matched sets, so users could benefit from multiple buses on top of everything else.
     

Share This Page