Dynamic IP Address Issues

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sexual Vanilla, May 2, 2007.

  1. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Hi,

    The company I work part time for recently downsized operations at our location and have moved locations from an office building to a home with extra room. We had a T1 line with static IP addresses, so VPN/Remote Desktop, etc. was not an issue. Now, at the new location, we have a DSL connection with a constantly changing IP address (it renews every few days). How can I configure remote clients to be able to connect to our VPN or remote desktop if this is the case? Thanks!
     
  2. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have the remote router SMS when it changes IP addys (should be infrequent). Input new settings to local router/firewall. PITA.

    DDNS to a junker domain, then allow by domain rather than IP would also work.
     
  3. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Not exactly sure what you mean
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    The issue is that your local firewall/router is config'ed to only accept VPN connections from specific ip addresses, but now the valid ip adresses may change occassionally, correct?
     
  5. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    No. The issue is when remote users try to connect to the server running behind the DSL connection. They must enter the server's IP address in the VPN client software to connect. The problem is that this IP address changes every few days because of the Dynamic IP addressing that is used on our DSL connection.
     
  6. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I understand. I thought it was the other way around, as in connections are originating from the dynamic.

    I was in your exact situation just a few weeks back. I registered a domain then use DDNS to keep the domain-ip resolution updated for remote connections.

    There's some lag time when the IP changes.
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    So how does this DDNS work?
     
  8. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Log into router managing internet connection. Set 3 settings. When you IP changes, the router initiates a change in the internet's DNS lookup tables. There's a bit more to it, but you should read up before implementing anyhow.
     
  9. peerk

    peerk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    www.dyndns.com

    Or get a static ip. They might make you upgrade to a business DSL plan.
     
  10. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, forgot to include the link. Go here. It's fairly simple.

    Make sure your router supports DDNS. You may just need to flash the BIOS.
     
  11. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    .

    static ip will solve your headache, but will cost some more $$
     
  12. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    I feel like apoligizing for people who don't read post #1
     
  13. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    The basic idea of DDNS is that you setup your computers/software with a domain/subdomain name instead of an IP address. That domain name then points to your current IP address. If your router supports DDNS and you have it set up successfully, every time its IP changes it will update the domain/subdomain to point to the new IP.
     
  14. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    :werd: and fixed
     

Share This Page