DVI question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 04JETTA, May 21, 2007.

  1. 04JETTA

    04JETTA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Prarie State/The Hoosier State
    ok so i have a tv with HDMI im trying to use my dvi port on my video card to use my TV as a moniter so i got a hdmi to dvi cable come to find out its dvi single link and i have dvi dual link is there any way i can make this work
     
  2. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    wait..what?
     
  3. mondaynightmike

    mondaynightmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    117,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DEFINITELY No *Unlinked* Cock Pics
    you want to use your TV as a PC monitor yeah?
     
  4. Moistfly

    Moistfly Anal Bum Cover

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    12,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Dual link is only for resolutions over 1920x1080, which I doubt your TV supports.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your TV needs a dual-link connection, then a single-link cable won't work, and neither will a video card with a single-link DVI port.

    If your TV only needs a single-link connection, then any DVI<=>HDMI cable and any DVI-capable video card will be able to handle the job.
     
  6. 04JETTA

    04JETTA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Prarie State/The Hoosier State
    yea
     
  7. 04JETTA

    04JETTA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    The Prarie State/The Hoosier State
    ??? my tv doesnt have dvi
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Just a thought and I know you might say the image quality is better with DVI, but here it goes anyway.

    Does your TV have a VGA port? If so, why not just use that for the PC and save the HDMI for your DVD player?
     
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    (sighs, rubs forehead)

    You already know that your TV has an HDMI port. You already know that your computer has a DVI port. You already know that you need a cable with a DVI plug on one end and an HDMI port on the other end. I thought the question was WHICH KIND OF DVI<=>HDMI CABLE DO YOU NEED. The answer is, it depends on whether your TV requires dual-link or not.
     
  10. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Okay, you say dual link but do you mean the PC needs dual link or the TV?

    My guess is that you're mistaking the two DVI ports on the back of your computer as dual link, it's optional. What size is the TV? What's the model?
     
  11. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Don't think there are tv's that use dual-link hdmi. Dual-link hdmi has more pins and the size of the connector is larger.
     
  12. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    So, any DVI<->HDMI cable you buy will be single link. And, it does not matter whether your video card supports dual-link or not, because that feature won't come into play.
     

Share This Page