*DVI Crew* gfx card recommendations

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rpark, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    Okay currently I'm using the ATI Radeon X800 GTO.

    Now the card works with DVI when its in Windows but only after the ATI drivers have been loaded. So, I can't see anything else.

    Most importantly, I can't see my BIOS and I've reciently attempted to try the Ubuntu Live CD with no luck.

    So I'm wondering, do the nVidia cards do the same... and does anyone have an ATI card where the DVI port works (aparently this is an issue with all the X series: X300 and higher).

    Cliff:
    Nvidia's DVI work without drivers? If so what model do you use?
    I'm thinking about getting like a 6800GS or something to replace this stupid card.


    EDIT:
    My system (maybe u can find the problem):
    Processor: AMD 64 X2 3800+
    MoBo: MSI K8N-Neo4
    Ram: Value 1 Gig
    Gfx: Radeon X800GTO
    DVD,HDD, :blah:
     
  2. Sean6293

    Sean6293 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,034
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    flash your BIOS to the latest version.
     
  3. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    It is flashed with the latest.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I reinstalled windows back at christmas, and I had been using my 2405fpw for several months before that, I've been into the bios and even while loading windows I didn't have to switch to analog with my x800xl.
    What kind of monitor is it?
     
  5. paul9luap

    paul9luap Boiler Up

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    I have a Nvidia 6600 GT, using Dual DVI. One to a HDTV and the other to a 21" LCD monitor, and I can see the bios on both the TV and the monitor.

    EDIT: I also have a MSI mainboard.
     
  6. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    The monitor is an Apple 23" Cinema display.

    This problem is driving me crazy because I want to install linux but I don't want to run into problems like bad drivers.


    EDIT:

    Is yours a AGP or PCI-E and what is the make?

    Maybe its just a bad batch from Sapphire? I asked around there and it seems to be a common problem that they have all accepted.
     
  7. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Mine is AGP.
     
  8. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    same question AGP or PCI-E?
     

Share This Page