DVD Ripping

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BajaDak, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    I've got my colossal pile of DVD's and I'd like to watch them from a new 1.5 TB external i just bought. What DVD ripping software (prefer free, but doesn't have to be) do you guys recommend? I'd prefer taht it just goes to a WMV type file and just burn the movie, no chapter partitions, etc. Just click and watch once its done. Looking for 1.5G ish quality per.

    Thanks Guys
     
  2. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I don't know of any off top of my head where you can rip and convert all at the same time been so long since Ive done it but DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink will take care of this. DVD Shrink will at least allow you to re-author the dvd (ie remove chapters and unnecessary stuff where dvd decrypter just pulls everything off the dvd)
     
  3. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    videohelp.com may have some procedures
     
  4. Fase

    Fase Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ont, Canada.
    DVD Shrink
     
  5. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Anyone have any suggestions for ripping TV Show DVDs? I want to rip all of my LOST DVDs onto my new 1TB HD... same method? DVD Shrink?
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    DVD Shrink is only used if you want to burn an DVD9 to a DVD5.

    If you want to rip them uncompressed using the mpeg-4 stream then you can just DVD Decryptor or AnyDVD to rip them to your HDD. Then use pgcdemux to separate the streams into an audio/video stream. The use mkvmerge to place them in to an mkv container.

    If you want to transcode them in to an h.264 stream. You want to rip the disc to the drive w/ DVD Decryptor or AnyDVD. Then use Handbrake to encode them. Handbrake is very easy to use but if your DVD has DTS audio it will need to be down converted to AC3.

    For TV shows I just used Handbrake since they'll never have a DTS soundtrack. Play around with the advanced settings and you can get some rather good quality rips. I keep my episodes around 650 MB. And with the h.264 settings I use I can't tell between the DVD and the rip.
     
  7. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,742
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    dvdfab platinum will rip and convert to xvid etc
     
  8. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Thanks for the advice :bowdown: Any advice for what settings to use for TV rips? Tried to rip an episode of Lost today... checked it out when it was done, sound kept skipping & screen kept turning green, then would show picture then would get artifacts, rinse & repeat... I must've messed something up :hs:
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    You used handbrake? Are you encoding using x264?

    This is what I use for settings when I ripped all my TV DVD's.
    Episodes come out to around 600mb each. You could likely lower the bitrate a bit if you are trying to save on space.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Hope you have quadcore though, as these settings are very strong and will take a while to encode.

    Make sure you try a couple of different players afterwards to see if the rip was actually the problem.
     
  10. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    I only use SlySoft for ripping/etc... haven't found anything I like better yet.
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    AnyDVD? Or something else?
     
  12. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Can you give me some handbrake settings for H.264 with 5.1 audio that can be played on the PS3?
     
  13. Pudge

    Pudge New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    magic dvd ripper is what i use and it works very well. It even converts the file to whatever you specify
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    AnyDVD for dencryption
    CloneDVD for ISO creation and copies
    CloneDVD Mobile for compressed video creation
    Virtual CloneDrive for ISO mounting

    CyberLink PowerDVD for ISO playback
    Windows Media Player for compressed video playback


    I used to use pirated SlySoft software but it was always a couple versions behind and the cracks only worked half the time. Before SlySoft ended their lifetime update policy I purchased all 3 products, including the HD variants (Virtual CloneDrive is free for anyone).
     
  15. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    You can still buy a lifetime membership. I bought one a week ago.
     
  16. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Can a PS3 play mkv, if not you can use the mp4 container also with handbrake. And for audio just select AC3.
     
  17. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    PS3 will play mkv and mp4, but it will not playback 5.1 in either of those containers
     
  18. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    HandBrake FTMFW !! :bowdown:

    It's great for doing batch jobs for the iPhone !
     
  19. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    im going to try x264 in AVI container with AC3...see if that does anything.
     
  20. MeanieMe

    MeanieMe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland

    ??? am i missing an update

    my ps3 will not play MKV it does play MP4's, DIVX, and mpegs
     
  21. SeeVinceRun

    SeeVinceRun Currently In Prison OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I read that it would, but I havent tried it, only MP4.:dunno:
     
  22. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Have you tried M2TS? I know that is Sony's container of choice. If you already have your movies in MKV, all you need to do is demux/mux them.

    eac3to can demux mkv containers. If you use the GUI that is included it isn't all that overwhelming to use. If you can't figure it out, I could post screens but I am currently lazy, so only if you can't figure it out. :p One thing to do is when you are demuxing the video stream, make sure you pic mkv. As the m2ts muxer we will be using doesn't like .h264 raw streams.

    Now download tsMuxeR GUI Once you have the video/audio streams separated. Drag and drop your audio/video streams. Select M2TS muxing for output. Enter the filename. Then press 'Start Demuxing.'

    If the m2ts container won't work w/ 5.1 I have my doubts anything will work.
     
  23. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I'm trying to mimic your settings. Just testing it on a DVD of season TV show.

    I'm not familiar with Handbrake so these questions may be obvious.

    First - When I click on Source and choose the DVD there is already an option selected in the Format under Output Settings. It's set to MP4, yours is blank???

    Next thing I noticed is over on the right side you do not have any presets listed. Mine has numerous presets. Does that matter?
     
  24. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I just deleted all my presets. I just haven't added the ones that I use for the TV I record yet.

    I didn't select a source which is why the format is blank. MP4 is fine, but i choose mkv.
     
  25. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    thanks lowfat

    I did mkv but not sure how to play it???

    I then tried mp4 and it plays but is all garbled up. And it is only one episode from the dvd. I can't figure out how to make it all 6 or 7?
     

Share This Page