DVD Burner issues

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mac, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    i bought a new dvd burner yesterday (LG model 4167B), i installed it and i already had a copy of powerdvd installed so i left that on. so anyway, i put in a dvd and 90% of the time it wont play. the drive light flicker but the drive never increses speed and plays the video. itll load cd's just fine though...whats up with it guys? please help me.

    link to info on drive: http://www.lge.com/products/supermulti/new/newview.jsp?id=151
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    did you open power dvd and hit play?
     
  3. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    yes i did, to no avail
     
  4. grkgus

    grkgus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you tried differnt dvds....try different software...
     
  5. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    i did, the dvd's wont even show up in my computer
     
  6. grkgus

    grkgus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    try updating the drivers...if not RMA and get another one...if it does not show up in windows then there is most likely driver issue or the device is just bad..
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'd try to uninstall/reinstall Power DVD.
     
  8. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    is it possible this is due to whether its set as master or slave???
     
  9. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
  10. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    for fuck sakes...its prolly just a defective unit. just my fuckin luck, i hate my life, things never go the way i want them to.
     
  11. darnit

    darnit New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    KISS,
    1. RTFM,some drives need to be set on the cable in a certain postion, or jumper set not standard.(the way I test this is using it as single drive,with jumper, without, and both positions on cable if it works in one of those 4 settings, its not the drive)
    2 IDE cable plug could be screwy and allow the data cable to be plugged in upside down(redline to red power line usually works)
    3. Make sure you cable is seated all the way,on MB as well
    4. Check your bios make sure you have 2nd channel enabled
    5. PIO/DMA modes, change'em
    Thats like the first five I can think of that cause simple problems
     
  12. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    these pio/dma modes, what do they do and do i access them from the bios?
     
  13. grkgus

    grkgus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    too much work for nothing....if the drive reads some cd and not others its not the cable or the master or slave....the unit is defective...id you tried drivers, different cds, different programs and it only plays some, its a bad drive...stop wasting time and return it...
     
  14. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The PIO/DMA modes should be in device manager. Right click on the IDE controllers.
     
  15. Mac

    Mac It varies from season to season, kid. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa
    i think yer right dude, good thing it has a 30 day replacement warranty. werd
     

Share This Page