Dually Xeon Setup Pics v.2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by eighteen_psi, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Whored these pics pretty much everywhere but here, so...enjoy.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    "Vendetta"
    Dual Xeon 2.2/400/512
    Supermicro X5DA8
    1GB Crucial Registered ECC (2x512), PC2100
    ATI Radeon 9500 Pro @ FireGL X1 (Free FireGL Drivers), 128MB
    M-Audio Audiophile 2496
    Dual 18GB Seagate X15-36LP (Soon RAID-0)
    WD2000JB 200GB
    IBM/Hitachi 180GB
    LaCie 160GB Firewire
    Plextor Premium (52x32x52)
    Plextor DVD (16x40)
    Plextor UltraPlex 40max (Going back in soon)
    Seagate Python DDS3 Tape
    Enermax 651P-VE EPS 12V
    ...other stuff

    Misc. Gear Shown:
    Sony F500-R 21", [email protected] :big grin:
    Hansol Mazellan 15", [email protected] :(
    Dual 1000VA APC Smart UPS
    Millier & Kreisel (M&K) V-2B Servo 12" Sub
    ALR-Jordan Entry S Sat's
    1978 Onkyo A-5 Reciever
    Aluminum Multiloop Headphone Amp
    Sennheiser HD580's
    Totally Unused Baystack 350T-HD Switch
    SGI Indigo2 R4400
    Canon Optura20 MiniDV Cam
    ...other stuff
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    very cool. I love the design of those older SGI boxes. :)
     
  4. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Mighty :yum: y

    I want one.
     
  5. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,446
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is that at home? What do you do with it?
     
  6. fanatic

    fanatic BC2 needs more barrell roll

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I was wondering the same thing. Still pretty :cool: though.
     
  7. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    From another thread...

     
  8. madriver

    madriver so yea. . .

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    :yum: So what did that setup end up costing?
     
  9. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Rough break down as best I can remember comes out around 5K all told...
    Could be a lot more or a lot less depending on what point in time I jumped on various things. That mobo alone cost nearly $600, for instance..but the Xeons were around $250 for the pair 2nd hand.

    That F500 would have been like $1500 new..but I got it refurb for around 300.

    Lots of little stuff adds up too like all those hard drives...and a $150 pair of headphones..and the UPSs...

    It wasn't cheep but much of it is carryover from previous dually workstation rigs...something of an evolution.

    Odds are this mobo will see a pair of 3.06 or 3.2 Xeons as my next upgrade...after that, it will be moved to renderbox duty and I'll get into a 1066MHz FSB Xeon (or Opteron) depending on how things are looking at the time. First and foremost I need more RAM...bad :(
     
  10. fanatic

    fanatic BC2 needs more barrell roll

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Yeah, I noticed that. 1 gig of RAM isn't that much for a workstation like that.
     
  11. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    nice looking, I have a 19 inch 4 post rack, sadly it has no actual rackmount comps on it, just some network hardware, where did you get that case? do you like it? those ups's are sweet, how much did they cost, I know there not in any way shape or form cheap.
     
  12. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,477
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    :drool:

    My dad was given a brand new (spare) dual Xeon 450 (quad capable) server. 3 or 4 (cant remember) 18 gig 10k rpm SCSI 160 drives in RAID 5. Its been sitting next to his desk since April.
     
  13. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    I also have a huge, enclosed 4 post 23" rack thats just filled with excess crap now. (Computer parts and stuff all boxed up). Perhaps it will house a renderfarm someday... :x:

    As far as those UPSs, I believe I paid $250 each for them NIB..a steal, especially at the time. While you can't get rackmount Smart-UPS's for that price anywhere retail, you can get some damn nice deals on the smaller deskside ones almost everywhere now.

    I can't tell you how much I love those..every time they save a huge project of keep the system up during a long render...oooh.

    They keep the whole system going, monitor and all for nearly an hour BTW...~45 minutes fully loaded up rendering or whatever. :bigthumb:
     
  14. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    post pics of your other stuff, if its old and your not using it, I might wanna buy it :o
     
  15. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    As you wish. Not much in there for sale. I'll PIF small stuff for shipping if I have a drive rail or something someone wants though.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Network:
    [​IMG]
    (Much love for $300+ WiFi Router for early adopter status...)

    Teh 'other' box:
    [​IMG]
    Note the 2nd Sony F500-R (my parent's box now. Its mine when I move..again...or when I end up finding room for it). Dual F500's @ 2048x1536 = monitorSechs.

    Thats a 2.4B/Max2 Rig. That's one of the boxes in the big rack.

    The others are for a spare dual Xeon board (An Intel 7505VB2 in need of a new VRM), a box of power cables, a bunch of drive rails, other cables, old HDDs pulled from customers' computer for upgrades, a couple PSUs, the innards of a couple old dells (I can NEVER find a deal on a Dell PSU when I need one for a customer so I've been hording them).

    Some other stuff too. I used to have LOTS more but I sold much of it off to help fund the existing beast.
     
  16. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Team Opteron :bigthumb:
     
  17. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Team X6DA8/800FSB Xeon/SLI QuadroFX 4000's :bowdown:
    Even the 3.4/800 has taken back most workstation benches to the Xeon camp from the 250. The 3.6 will take the rest.

    Server apps and quad systems are another matter. Opeteron has those without a doubt.

    I'm no fanboy...my next rig will be whichever gets my design work done faster and at this point, as it was when I got into this system, its still the Xeon.

    And yes
     
  18. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    dude, one of my clients has that EXACT same desk.
     
  19. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I wanted to be future proofed with 64-bit (for whenever MS gets around to releasing 64-bit XP) and i liked the dual channel RAM. I just trade stocks and play a few games on it, so it didn't have to be the end all be all in performance. I just wanted a stable machine that I wouldn't have to replace anytime soon.
     
  20. no1god

    no1god New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    what a system
     
  21. oradii

    oradii www.oteampress.com

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    I thought I had a pretty serious network going on at home.

    Me = :slap: by U
     
  22. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    thanks for copying all the pictures. i hadn't seen them in a while.
     
  23. zero xeal

    zero xeal Guest

    Nice stuff, im getting rather tempted to recase my main comp/get a new main comp, and have its case rackmount, mainly because my desk isn't to to large.
     
  24. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    now that so many servers are available in 1U cases, i may have to go rack-mount on my next machine, including my next mac. the G5 XServes are pretty sweet...

    http://www.apple.com/xserve/

    :drool:
     

Share This Page