Dual screen gaming

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by edwin23, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. edwin23

    edwin23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    16,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it possible to run a game full screen in one monitor and a movie playing full screen in the other?
     
  2. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. SaintGRW

    SaintGRW OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157,362
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, I used to do this all the time, if it wasn't a movie I was browsing and chatting on AIM on or keeping track of game info in excel or something on the other monitor.
     
  4. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    yes. not sure how easy it would be to do 2 separate sound systems though
     
  5. edwin23

    edwin23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    16,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i do it? when i full screen a game my monitor 2 just goes black
     
  6. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    what video card do u have?
     
  7. edwin23

    edwin23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    16,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    hd4850
     
  8. SaintGRW

    SaintGRW OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157,362
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    SoCal
    I did my regular sounds through the motherboard to the speaker under my Dell2405FPW and the other speakers for the game configured through my sound card.
     
  9. CrimsonVonDoom

    CrimsonVonDoom There Cannot be Two Skies OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    10,005
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    On the damn roof
    how do you chat on aim without minimizing the game / alt tabbing?
     
  10. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    put the game in windowed mode, i play WoW or TF2 on one window and have the internet or AIM open on my other screen
     
  11. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,813
    Likes Received:
    8
    :werd: the games minimize when they lose focus
     
  12. Sa7aN

    Sa7aN STEELERS FTW

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In My EVO X
    game needs to have an option or command line addition to let it run in fullscreen maximized mode
     
  13. Strife

    Strife Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    27,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Windowed mode.
     
  14. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    I never had a problem with this when I used a 3850. now i have a 9800gt and i still dont have a problem.

    Depends on the game. if i can play in windowed mode i do. if not, i just alt tab or hope they are messaging me with xfire. in game messaging ftw.
     
  15. raand

    raand New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do this all the time, only a little video lag in games that have higher graphics requirements.
     
  16. August Burns Red

    August Burns Red New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    6,850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort. Lawer-der-deyle, Flooridah
    Hell yes. :big grin: I run a triple display set. I have two monitors and a 32 inch LCD tv for other shit. (movies, shows, videos, ect..) (just requires a few gigs of ram, good vc, mb and processor)
     
  17. edwin23

    edwin23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    16,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can do it without windows mode.. theatre overlay + games works
     
  18. otherlank

    otherlank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    22,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically you need a fast computer
     
  19. White

    White OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    11,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bareizona
    :rofl:
     
  20. Alien

    Alien snikt bub!! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    23,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    i have the same video card and i can do it
     
  21. PSUPef2K

    PSUPef2K #Elite member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Messages:
    116,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    :hsugh:
     
  22. Wolf Demon

    Wolf Demon HURF DURF OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    39,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana State, son
    just make the window as big as you can for the movie. I've never heard of a computer being able to go "full screen" mode on two monitors
     
  23. edwin23

    edwin23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    16,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    its possible with theatre overlay.. on ati cards at least. im sure nvidia has something similar

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page