Dual Raid?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Leb_CRX, Aug 29, 2006.

  1. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    so, it is time to plan for the next PC upgrade. I am thinking I want to go raid for my next system. I already have 2 identical drives (slow as molasses). I am thinking about buying another couple drives and setting it up so that 2 drives are in raid 0 (best speed to run the O/s, games, etc) and the 2 current drives in Raid 1 (to store the important information I do not want to loose, Pr0n, nudies of the GF, etc)

    so, can a built in raid controller like the ich7r do this or do I need to get an external raid controller? will I need to use the onboard raid controller to control the 2 primary HDD's running the OS in raid 0 and slap in the other raid controller to run raid 1 for my other drives?


    I could go to other options, the reason I am looking for this solution is because I have 2 drives already and I cannot see me being able to find more (and to be honest I want to find faster performing drives)

    opinions? ideas? anyone want to buy me a pair of raptors?
     
  2. whatever

    whatever OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    110,220
    Likes Received:
    258
    why not put your OS onto a single 7200 drive and then utilize the others in a raid 5 config?
    C: = single drive for strictly OS and stuffs
    D: = raid 5(min 3 drives) that wont be nearly as fast yet still give you good return on your protection
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    raid 5 = 3 or more drives, I only have 2 and I do not think I can find a 3rd to match the 2 slow ones I presently have :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2006
  4. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    The onboard raid controller should be able to support multiple raidsets.

    Funny that you consider the O/S non-critical and porn critical....
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    O/S can always be re-installed (and pretty easily and painlessly at that). In reality the raid 1 setup is more for digital pics and other data I consider vital that I do not want to loose and access fairly often. With this being OT I figured mentionning Pr0n would get me a faster reply:hs:
     
  6. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,361
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    You should actually be able to do what is referred to as Matrix Raid on that controller, at least on a true intel mobo. Meaning on just those two drives you can partition part of the drives into Raid 0 and the rest into Raid 1. Handy to be able to run both on just two drives...
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if you use raid0, then you deserve to drive off a cliff.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    .

    Maybe not drive off a cliff, but you will curse yourself when the RAID crashes for no good reason and you lose all your files. RAID 0 has no protection against hard drive failure; all the other types of RAID do have that protection.
     

Share This Page