Dual Quad-core processors?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AustinL911, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. AustinL911

    AustinL911 Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus
    Are there any MBs out there that allow you to run 2 Quad-cores, and would there be any benefit to it? I'm looking to build an ultimate gaming machine here.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    at the present, no game takes advantage of even a single multi-core die. So I'm not so sure that dual-die, multi-core is at all helpful for gaming?
     
  3. AustinL911

    AustinL911 Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus

    That's what I needed to know. Thanks.
     
  4. +(ll.ll)+

    +(ll.ll)+ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crysis uses all 4 quads. Check out their official forum for the breakdown of what each core will do...
     
  5. +(ll.ll)+

    +(ll.ll)+ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's only a matter of time before every app and game starts utilizing all this power...
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I agree, eventually it will help. However, today it does not. And building a "top-notch" machine today, to do something that won't happen till the future is not the best investment. Save the money, because it will buy a more powerful machine when it actually matters.
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yep.

    A single quad core board would be a ton cheaper than a dual cpu board, first of all.
    A typical Tyan dual cpu board will run near $500.

    Then it's double the cost for the cpu's.

    And there's only a handful of decent looking cases that can take
    a server board.

    I actually did a dual cpu Tyan board last year.
    Big pain in the ass, every step of the way through.
    I wound up with a case that was so big it didn't fit on the table I use for my pc case.
     
  8. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    You can't build an 8-way rig nearly as good as a mac pro for the money :eek4:
    Damn CPUs are just too expensive.
     
  9. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    There are ATX sized dual proc boards. Hell, I have a microATX SFF box that has 2 dual core Opterons in it. But they are expensive, about $300+ for a decent one, and you can't shop around as much. Then there is the RAM...
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't want to doubt you, but I must have hunted through every server board maker, a half dozen times or more.

    A dual proc micro atx board?

    This I gotta see.
     
  11. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Oh there's a lot actually. Dual P3, Dual (P4) Xeon (Netburst), Optys, all manner of stuff :)
    Currently I'm not sure but I've built several Asus PC-DL rigs (Dual 603/604 Xeon) in ATX.

    Supermicro has in the past too. Check it out.
     
  12. Toadster

    Toadster have you SHARTEEZED today?

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    43,718
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    ...fresh from the Toadstool.
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've seen quite a few in an atx board.

    I'm talking about a micro-atx board.

    I've never seen that, and I can't understand how it would even work.
     
  14. Toadster

    Toadster have you SHARTEEZED today?

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    43,718
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    ...fresh from the Toadstool.
    there are no micro-atx dual-socket boards - everything is ATX size
     
  15. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&Subcategory=302&description=&Ntk=&srchInDesc=
    For ATX boards, Go to the right, select socket type.

    For the MicroATX (technically, it's actually a little smaller than MicroATX) see my next post
     
  16. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :Owned:
     
  18. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    It's small, but the holes don't look like they're to mATX spec. Can you use it in a standard case?
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    What-in-the-fuck?

    That's really sick and twisted in so many levels, and insanely cool
    all at the same time.
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I saved that link to my favorites.

    Something tells me I'm going to hate myself for that before it's all over.
     
  21. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you can put 4gb of memory in it. An 8800GTX ultra card.
    Two quad core cpu's. All in a case that you can just about fit in a drawer. :eek3:

    Am I missing anything here?
     
  22. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    No, it's actually a little bit smaller than the 9.5x9.5 of a MicroATX. It also requires a special power supply (since the PS also contains the cooling fans) and special heat sinks (they overlap in the middle and share two screws)
     
  23. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Yes, I don't think a nuclear bomb is legal for consumer possession.
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Heh, no shit.

    I wish one of the oem's would do that with an Intel board.
     
  25. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yes, it sucks balls. It's loud, hot, and the power supply (mine failed) was designed by a D- student in a remedial high school electronics class in a special ed school in the outskirts of China who road the short ox to get there.

    Thus why I also knew there was a selection of ATX dual-proc MB's, and what they cost: I'm shopping for one.

    To be honest though I got the barebones uber cheap, and it was very cool. At first.
     

Share This Page