dual monitors in ubuntu; reading ntfs drives

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jdog12, Jun 3, 2006.

  1. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i recently set up ubuntu 5.10 on my computer (alot easier than i thought) i went through and got my wireless working, which was pretty easy with the included tools, got the printer workign(although i didnt test it) i went to ubuntuguide.org and used their tutorial to set up mplayer, set up mp3s and set up nvidia drivers(i dont like the site to much as it tells you waht to type in the terminal, but it didnt really do a whole lot of explaining, ill check it out later)

    anyways, i got the nvidia drivers set up, but im having trouble setting up my dual monitors; it says i have to edit my xorg.conf; but im confused as to what i actually have to edit inside this file to get them working...

    also, im able to read my ntfs usb drive, but if i try to open my other ntfs partitions, it says i dont have permission to do so or something like that, im in windows right now, when i go back to ubuntu ill clarify, does anyone know what this could be?

    does anyone have any good links that i could read regarding the basics of linux, particularly how the filesystem works, what all the folders mean (etc, mnt, media, home, ...) and how to use the commmand prompt in it?
     
  2. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    jdog, I'll be glad to help you get that stuff set up, but might I suggest first installing dapper drake (6.06)? either way, post back with your answer and we can work through your problems.
     
  3. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought 6.06 was in beta? it was when i downloaded the install CD.
    whats new/good in 6.06?
    how do i go about upgrading? im a total linux noob, do i just pop the cd in and follow instructions?

    its amazing the difference that going back to only one monitor makes.
     
  4. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    6.06 was just released on the first of this month. From what I hear it's really worth the upgrade, although I haven't installed it yet (will let you know later tonight when I do). My recommendation to you is to just reinstall over your old one. Download the iso ( http://www.ubuntu.com/download ) and burn it to a cd, and then reboot like you did with your old version.
     
  5. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    im following the upgrade instructions and they arent working, it says you can download the alternate cd and not to dl the full cd, which i may end up doing. as far as trouble reading my ntfs drives, im in ubuntu now and it says " you do not have the permissions necessary to view the contents of "hda1" its the same for hda6,7 sda1,2. now not even my usb drive which is ntfs formatted is being read, and it was working before.
     
  6. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you please paste the contents of your fstab file? it's located in /etc/fstab
    and you can open it with gedit. fstab is what the OS uses to mount all of your partitions, and once I get that info we can get to reading the NTFS partitions
     
  7. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  8. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2006
  9. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    jdog, to try accessing hda1, we're gonna drop in to the command line

    We're gonna be prefixing our commands with "sudo". That means "switch to root and do this command". It's presumably safer than logging in as root, but it still requires that you enter your root password. It should be the password you used to set up your account during install.

    To make sure that the hard drives are mounted, type in "sudo mount -l"
    if you don't see as many partitions as there should be, type "sudo mount -a"
    post back with any errors

    then to navigate to hda1, type "cd /media/hda1" which means change directories to blah.

    to view the contents in the command line type "sudo ls" ls (as in LS) is like dir, it just shows you the contents of the directory.

    If it shows them without problem then post back
     
  10. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    jdog, you didn't type the commands in correctly

    it's mount -l as in L, no |
    try doing "sudo cd /media/hd1"
     
  13. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    ha, my bad.. i was reading on a forum and it said something about pressing ctrl + alt + f1 to do something and it will make dual monitors work and it logged me out of the gui and into command line, then i couldnt figure out how to get back in and rebooted and im back in windows... give me 5 minutes and i'll try again.
     
  14. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    im still getting permission denied, when i tried "sudo cd /media/hd1" i get "sudo: cd: command not found" i even tried sudo cd /media/hda1, and got the command not found error.
     
  15. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    i followed these instruction(sort of)
    http://ubuntuguide.org/#mountunmountntfs

    first i unmounted hda1, then i made a new folder in /media then i mounted hda1 with
    sudo mount /dev/hda1 /media/windows/ -t ntfs -o nls=utf8,umask=0222
    now, i wish i knew what everything after "/media/windows/" meant.

    if i can get my second monitor working, i will be going hardcore with linux.
     
  16. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i unmounted it and tried to mount it again without the " -t ntfs -o nls=utf8,umask=0222" then i would get the same "permission denied" error.
     
  17. Shibboleth

    Shibboleth teh mad Plato skillz

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    jdog, if you can wait until tomorrow I can help more, but I need to go. Basically what you need to do is make sure that the partions in /etc/fstab are mounting correctley and that they are readable by you.

    That involves making sure that the second parameters for each line actually exist. "sudo mkdir /mount/blah"

    mount -a will attempt to mount all entries in your fstab file.

    then there is the problem of the permissions. there's not much I can do now, but if you do everything under sudo you shouldn't have problems.

    Search more on ubuntuforums.org . that's where I learned most of what I know. The answers are out there. Tomorrow, if you still need it, I'll go over the X.org config file.

    what you need to do with that is add another screen and then tell the video device to output both of them. It's more complicated than that but I'm having trouble remembering. At least it should give you direction on the forums.
     
  18. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got the partition thing figured out, thanks for the help(i only wish it woudl have explained all the parameters at the end, if not i will look em up later, no biggie), i will work on getting it to do it at startup, doesnt seem to difficult. my biggest thign right now is getting my second monitor to work, im working with one and its starting to tick me off, i dont know how i ever lived with just one monitor.
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I setup multimons with Ubuntu the other day. VERY easy. Just gotta mess with your X11 config. post yours (/etc/X11/xorg.conf) and I'll see what I can do.
     
  20. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    jdog, just double checked those links. Both work for me.


    But, as jolly said, post your xorg.conf and one of us can likely do it for you.
     
  21. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good thing i have partition magic, i would have had to reboot into linux to get to it, but i just used the included file browser and copied it to my C: drive, and opened it with word
     
  22. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    make a backup of your old xorg.conf, first:

    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.orig
    then:
    Code:
    sudo nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Code:
    # /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the /etc/X11/xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man /etc/X11/xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/share/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    # paths to defoma fonts
    FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    Load "GLcore"
    Load "i2c"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    Load "int10"
    Load "type1"
    Load "vbe"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "NVIDIA Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
    Driver "nv"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Left Monitor"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Right Monitor"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Left Screen"
    Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
    Monitor "Left Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Right Screen"
    Device "NVIDIA Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
    Monitor "Right Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "Left Screen" LeftOf "Right Screen"
    Screen "Right Screen"
    InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
    InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection
    save the file

    If you were in X (gnome/kde/xfce/etc) when you do this, reboot.

    after that is working, I highly suggest you get the "nvidia" driver to replace "nv". Requires an apt-get. check ubuntu-guide.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2006
  23. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0

    i tried it and got permission denied for writing to the file, i left clicked it and tried to change the permissions and i they were greyed out, i guess you have to be in root, which i dont know how to do really.. i guess ill look up the command to change file permissions and maybe have to use sudo to change it and then try and figure it out.
     
  24. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Try adding a sudo before the nano command.

    Edit: Oh, and just to get my potshot in for the text editor wars... vim > nano!
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2006
  25. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    incorrect.

    gedit > nano > shit > * > emacs > vim
     

Share This Page