Dual Monitors + Gaming

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Petey!, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. Petey!

    Petey! Oh Yeah! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    45,937
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Did quick seach didn't come back with anything directly related to my problem. Maybe i just suck at searching... '07 and all...

    Anyway, basicly just got a free 19" LCD today and trying to set up dual monitors. I want to be able to Game on my main monitor and keep my second monitor for MSN/browsing the web and things like that. I can't seem to get my monitors set up right so that it differentiats between the 2, all nvidia gives me is the option to span the whole thing as one big horizontal monitor or to clone it (useless?).

    I'm running and 8800 GT.

    Any help guys would be great.
     
  2. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Are you using XP or Vista and can you screen shot the display options screen
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Display Properties->Settings
    Click on the 2 (second monitor)
    Check "Extend my Windows desktop to this monitor"

    nVidia settings->nView Dispay Settings
    nView Display Mode: Dualview
     
  4. Petey!

    Petey! Oh Yeah! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    45,937
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  5. Petey!

    Petey! Oh Yeah! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    45,937
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    That's what screws me up, I don't get the usual 2 monitor thing, just 1 monitor option...
     
  6. Petey!

    Petey! Oh Yeah! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    45,937
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Hmmm, re-installed all my nvidia stuff cause i was getting some errors and now i get the option for dual view, seems to be all fixed it guess
     
  7. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    :bigthumb:
     
  8. Sa7aN

    Sa7aN STEELERS FTW

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In My EVO X
    ultramon
     
  9. dakayus

    dakayus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol do you guys has two monitors? The original poster set his up right, but as far as I know, you can't use the other monitor when you're gaming. The mouse is locked into the certain window which has to do with the limitations imposed by the program. It's like the mouse cannot by reading an invalid point to the game program, so it won't let your mouse wander unless you're alt-tabed out.
     
  10. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Put your games in windowed mode.
     
  11. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    exactly. I play WoW and have the second Monitor open to here or wherever and can browse while waiting for things
     
  12. Mint

    Mint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    Make sure you have SP2 and the latest .net framework, and drivers.
     

Share This Page